TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
Post Reply
pjc42
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Jan 2017 23:07

TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by pjc42 » 16 Jan 2017 23:19

I am a new user.

I use TortoiseGit extensively day to day from Windows Explorer without issues; get a context menu; get icon overlays showing file status.

I don't get any of that in my XYplorer.

I am running Windows 64 and latest versions of XYplorer and TortoiseGit, reinstalled them all today trying to get this working.

I have read several posts and believe that I do have the 32 bit version of shell extension installed, this is a specific installation option for TortoiseGit. I have XYplorer->Configuration->Shell Integeration->64-bit Windows, both show real System32 Directory and show the 64 bit context menu selected.

Is there something I am missing here? To be clear, all works fine from Windows Explorer so believe that my issue lies with my setup of XYPlorer not tortoisegit.

highend
Posts: 9006
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by highend » 16 Jan 2017 23:44

[ ] Configuration | Shell Integration | 64-bit Windows | Show the 64-bit context menu
Disable that for the moment

After doing this:
If you don't get the context menu entries of TortoiseGit in neither the normal XY right click context menu on a folder NOR when you switch
to the 64-bit context menu ("Show 64-bit Context Menu as an entry in the normal XY context menu)...

Show a screenshot of the Configuration screen for General - Menus, Mouse, Safety

Apart from that, which Windows do you use (7, 8, 8.1, 10)? and which TortoiseGit version?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

pjc42
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Jan 2017 23:07

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by pjc42 » 17 Jan 2017 05:30

Thanks for the quick response.
Disabling the x64 menu did not help. I also did not find it on the x64 explicit menu.

config.png : this is the xyplorer general-menus, mouse and safety configuration screen
tortoise.png : the about screen for tortoise (I am showing the latest beta version but installed this only have latest stable release was not working, can roll back if you think it will help but I'm told latest beta is very stable and as noted works fine from Windows Explorer)
windows.png : about system for windows, x64
explorer.png : this is a snippet of a dir shown in Windows Explorer, shows all the icon overlays and context menu (although not in snippet)
xyplorer.png : this is the same dir as shown in explorer.png but in xyplorer, no icon overlays and no context menu

is there some place in windows registry or appdata that the menu items are being picked up that I can check?

I've had trouble in the past with icon overlays but now manually edit their names so that TortoiseGit icons are always at the top of the list in registry.
Attachments
xyplorer.PNG
same example dir shown in XYplorer
xyplorer.PNG (165.86 KiB) Viewed 3941 times
explorer.PNG
example dir in Windows Explorer
explorer.PNG (139.64 KiB) Viewed 3941 times
Windows.PNG
Windows do you use (7, 8, 8.1, 10)?
Windows.PNG (30.58 KiB) Viewed 3941 times
Tortoise.PNG
TortoiseGit version?
Tortoise.PNG (32.1 KiB) Viewed 3941 times
config.PNG
screenshot of the Configuration screen for General - Menus, Mouse, Safety
config.PNG (43.19 KiB) Viewed 3941 times

highend
Posts: 9006
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by highend » 17 Jan 2017 09:07

My guess was: Configuration | Menus, Mouse, Safety | Context Menus | Hide shell extensions from shell context menu
But it isn't enabled...

And I guess you also have
Configuration | Refresh, Icons, History | Icons | Show icon overlays
already checked...

Under a current (Anniversary update) Win 10 Enterprise with the current beta of XY and (same version as yours)
TortoiseGit (32-bit extension checked during installation), I get overlay icons and Tortoise menus in both 32-bit
and 64-bit context menus in XY...

Enter

Code: Select all

fresh;
in the address bar, hit {ENTER}. A new instance should start. You don't see overlay
icons (after activating Configuration | Refresh, Icons, History | Icons | Show icon overlays) and Tortoise context
menu entries in that instance, do you?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

pjc42
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Jan 2017 23:07

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by pjc42 » 17 Jan 2017 20:34

Thanks for the ongoing help; it is close. I now have the context menu but no icon overlays; although they briefly appeared after rolling back a dropbox update that renamed their icon overlays in the registry.

Some of these issues are traceable I think to a very recent update of dropbox 16.4.x -> 17.4.33, when I roll back from this update the icons appear, after the update the icons are gone. One important change in the dropbox update was their renaming of their icons in the registry to all start with two spaces and thus sorting to the top of the list. I have edited the icon overlay names in the registry to put the the TortoiseGit icons back at the front of the list but while this seems to fix the issue in other applications it doesn't in xyplorer.

I have attached some screen shots showing xyplorer config for icon overlays checked, and an example dir under git control in windows explorer (icon overlays okay), xplorer2 (icon overlays okay), xyplorer icon overlays not visible.
Attachments
explorer.png
same eg dir shown in windows explorer, icon overlays ok
explorer.png (77.49 KiB) Viewed 3918 times
xplorer2.png
same eg dir shown in xplorer2, icon overlays okay
xplorer2.png (76.58 KiB) Viewed 3918 times
xyplorer.png
eg dir in xyplorer under git control but no icons (context menu does work although not seen)
xyplorer.png (64.99 KiB) Viewed 3918 times
config.png
xyplorer config, icon overlay on
config.png (50.54 KiB) Viewed 3918 times

highend
Posts: 9006
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by highend » 17 Jan 2017 20:42

Sorry but I can't comment on that (modifying the registry to provoke a specific behavior). At last it seems there is room for improvement in XY when all other applications don't struggle with your modifications...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48966
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by admin » 17 Jan 2017 21:00

The other apps are 64-bit apps I assume.

Conc. the registry you should look for the Wow6432Node branch.

Here some info I just googled
http://windowsitpro.com/systems-managem ... try-subkey
http://windowsitpro.com/site-files/wind ... gistry.gif
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

pjc42
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Jan 2017 23:07

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by pjc42 » 17 Jan 2017 21:35

Excellent point; thank you.

edited Wow6432Node as you suggested to ensure TortoiseGit icon overlays sort to top of list. All now works as expected. Note no changes to registry except a renaming of the icon overlays so that the sort order changes.

For anyone else following, see attached before and after registry screenshots.

Thanks to both highend and admin for helping me sort through this. All very obvious once you know how :tup:
Attachments
32bit-registry-fixed.png
after edit, tortoise git icons sort to top and appear in xyplorer
32bit-registry-fixed.png (52.01 KiB) Viewed 3907 times
32bit-registry.png
registry prior to fix; with this ordering no git icon overlays appear
32bit-registry.png (39.7 KiB) Viewed 3907 times

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48966
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by admin » 17 Jan 2017 21:50

Cool, thanks for sharing the solution. :tup:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Wear DIY masks! 😷

jreynolds
Posts: 36
Joined: 09 Nov 2009 19:48

Re: TortoiseGit Menu and IconOverlays Not Showing

Post by jreynolds » 10 Mar 2017 18:44

BTW, Dropbox criminally does this EACH and every time they update, which is usually at least once a month.

I have to search the registry for both entries (there are two) and delete them just as listed above.

Post Reply