YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
binocular222
Posts: 1414
Joined: 04 Nov 2008 05:35
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by binocular222 » 05 Sep 2015 10:57

I stored YAUM in <xyscripts> and there're 2 problems:
1) XY does restart but newversion does not replace old one.
2) all files in my <xyscripts> are deleted (except for YAUM.exe and all folders still survive). I'm not sure whether this is due to YAUM because I cannot repo this problem but please check your code again whether any possiblity that YAUM accidentally delete those files? Losing all the scripts is too much scary.
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 05 Sep 2015 13:16

1) XY does restart but newversion does not replace old one.
Was XY elevated, was YAUM elevated?

Next beta will contain almost all code to handle those situations (different elevation levels, etc.)
I'm not sure whether this is due to YAUM because I cannot repo this problem
I can... :bug:

Next beta will only:
Delete the archive folder when
- It does exist
- It has "!XY archives" in it's name (it's the hardcoded name for the subfolder)
- Keep max. archive(s) is set to 0

File deletion (.zip archives of downloaded versions):
It will only delete files that match this pattern: ^(v[\d.]+_beta.zip|v[\d.]+_official.zip)$
Which will count for:
v15.70.0005_beta.zip
v15.70.0100_official.zip

All other .zip files won't be touched

I've changed the naming style for all future downloads ofc.

Last thing: Instead of deleting .zip files / the archive folder, everything will be send to the recycle bin instead (as long as there is enough space left...)

Next beta will be posted within a day. In the meantime, DO NOT SET "Keep max archive(s)" to 0 in the gui!
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 05 Sep 2015 19:28

v0.73 BETA posted

All users are urged to update to this new version!
- Window title: YAUM + version number (instead of YAUM [Elevated / Not elevated]
- Elevation status is now found in the groupbox caption in Update tab
- Postpone & next update check are limited to 5 mins min. and 48 days max.
The input boxes will not allow to set those limits lower / higher than min / max
49,7 days is the maximum time of an .ahk timer and I think we don't need to hammer XY update urls more often than 5 minutes...
- Bug fixed: YAUM was able to delete all files in it's directory when "Keep max. archive(s)" was set to 0
Now it handles downloaded archive file / backup folder deletion much more carefully (e.g. via recycle bin)
- Changed names of downloaded archives into "v<version number>_beta|official.zip"
- All code for closing elevated / non elevated XY instances should now be in place
If you see a message like this: "YAUM will autoclose your running XY instances if you use "Update now"..."
-> YAUM has the necessary permissions to close XY and will do so automatically
When you see this message: "You need to close all running XY instances first!"
-> YAUM is not elevated but a running XY instance is.
You need to close XY by yourself. When you do so, the "Update now" button get's reenabled and the messages is dismissed
Screenshots of those two messages:
Update1.png
Update1.png (8.38 KiB) Viewed 1555 times
Update2.png
Update2.png (9.99 KiB) Viewed 1555 times
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

klownboy
Posts: 2792
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by klownboy » 06 Sep 2015 19:56

Hi highend, I ran YAUM on the latest update to go from 15.70.0102 to 15.70.0105. I let YAUM close XY and it did, but it didn't restart it though it did accomplished the update. Running the background is off and the two elevated option are '0'. When I double click YAUM after that I get no visual response. I know it's up-to-date, but I was under the impression you were going to bring up the interface to state that. It isn't running in task manager either. Though I'm the sole administrator on this computer, I'm not running XY as administrator (i.e., In properties "Run this program as Administrator" is not checked). By the way, I'm quite sure the red message stated YAUM will autoclose XY if I hit Update now. For info, it was restarting XY on the previous betas. Thanks.

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 06 Sep 2015 21:46

Hi Ken,
I let YAUM close XY and it did, but it didn't restart it though it did accomplished the update
Because I deactivated that option (and it isn't visible in the gui atm). Elevation is done now so I'll bring it back in one of the next betas.
When I double click YAUM after that I get no visual response. I know it's up-to-date, but I was under the impression you were going to bring up the interface to state that.
One of my next points. It's not in v0.73
By the way, I'm quite sure the red message stated YAUM will autoclose XY if I hit Update now.
I've changed the messages in v0.74 and the way how they are displayed.
YAUM will autoclose your running XY instances if you use "Update now"...
When it displays this (not bold, blue color) YAUM has the same or higher elevation level and so will be able to close the associated XY instance(s).
Same elevation level.png
Same elevation level.png (8.41 KiB) Viewed 1532 times
You need to close all elevated XY instances first!
Red color, bold font. This means, XY instance(s) is / are elevated and YAUM isn't. If you close XY then, YAUM does recognize this automatically and will dismiss this message and reenable the update button.
XY has higher elevation level.png
XY has higher elevation level.png (10.19 KiB) Viewed 1532 times
You'll see how this works when I release the next beta...

I'm current working on setting an autostart link (only possible for portable versions because Windows doesn't allow to use elevated tools from the autostart folder) + setting up a task (Vista+) to circumvent that (highest permissions, autostarted on computer startup, able to update XY even in installed mode). After that I get to reorganizing the different levels off backgrounding / showing the gui...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

klownboy
Posts: 2792
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by klownboy » 07 Sep 2015 00:52

Thanks highend. It sounds like you're having fun with this and hopefully learning a little on the way which is always nice.

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 08 Sep 2015 11:21

Ok, task creation is in, autostart entry creation is in (ofc with automatic deletions)
A XY restart mode is back (Do not restart, Restart elevated, Restart non-elevated)

Two new options:
Show GUI (Always, On update available)
Update mode (No automatic update, Automatic update)

This is how I would implement the logic:
Update mode
===========
If "Automatic update": Ignores the "Show GUI" setting | Own settings!
Ignores the "Restart XY" setting | Own settings!

-> Depending on OS, create task | autostart entry automatically!

Update mode: "Automatic update"
Background: On
XY: NOT RUNNING
-> Update available: Show NO gui, update, stay running in background
= Permanent updater as long XY is not running

XY: IS RUNNING
-> Show gui, don't autoupdate | Esc, Minimize -> Hide GUI

Update mode: "Automatic update"
Background: Off
XY: NOT RUNNING
-> Update available: Show NO gui, update, than exit
= A one time updater on each reboot (when the user logs in)

XY: IS RUNNING
-> Update available: Show gui, don't autoupdate | Esc, Minimize -> Exit


Update mode: "No automatic update"
Background: On | Off
-> use SHOW GUI settings below...

Show GUI
========
Show gui: Always
Background: Off
-> Show gui even with no update available | Esc, Minimize = Exit

Show gui: Always
Background: On
-> Show gui even with no update available | Esc, Minimize = Hide gui

Show gui: On update available
Background: Off
-> Show gui ONLY if update available, otherwise exit immediately
= A fast update checker with no gui if necessary

Show gui: On update available
Background: On
-> Update available: Show gui. No update: Show NO gui | Esc, Minimize = Hide gui
That's some kind of logic matrix. I think everybody should find a combination of settings that fits his needs. Any objections?

This would allow automatic updates as well BUT ONLY when XY is not running when an update is found!

I will not implement an autoupdate mode while XY is running without showing the gui!

New settings screen:
Settings.png
Settings.png (14.47 KiB) Viewed 1502 times
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

klownboy
Posts: 2792
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by klownboy » 09 Sep 2015 14:51

It looks like you have it all covered highend.

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 09 Sep 2015 14:53

K, thanks Ken.

Let's see if I get out the next beta until the weekend. I have another cool thing in the pipeline (not for YAUM^^)...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

Stef123

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by Stef123 » 09 Sep 2015 14:56

klownboy wrote:It looks like you have it all covered highend.
I think so too. Especially looking forward to the "Show GUI always" - and the other cool script.

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 09 Sep 2015 15:00

and the other cool script
It's still not Compactor :?
But there isn't so much left to do for it so it won't take that much time to finish it.

The next cool thing is something for all XY mouse users...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

binocular222
Posts: 1414
Joined: 04 Nov 2008 05:35
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by binocular222 » 12 Sep 2015 14:23

1) I have RunInBackground=0 but when I dbl click YAUM.exe, nothing happens
2) If YAUM.exe is located in <xyscripts>, XY_beta.zip is downloaded, XY restarted but failed to replace old one (i tried both elevated or not)
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 12 Sep 2015 21:38

Wait for the next beta, bino. I fixed a few things for WinXP (and iirc you're still using that)...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

40k
Posts: 234
Joined: 09 Dec 2011 21:25

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by 40k » 13 Sep 2015 15:06

Gave it a shot and works flawlessly. I'm impressed!
I develop scripts that integrate media functionality into Xyplorer.
Hash - Twitch.tv in VLC (NEW 2.0!) - FFmpeg GUI - Youtube downloading
XYplorer for Linux! Tutorial

highend
Posts: 8304
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Post by highend » 13 Sep 2015 15:56

Next beta will work (even) better :) And it won't be long 'til a final release from then...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or highend (at) web (dot) de

Post Reply