Website and Help Typos

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

Alright.

jupe
Posts: 2749
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by jupe »

A couple minor things I noticed if you are interested, under the SC inputfile help, the first example contains this: open """winrar"" x ""$file"" "<curpath>\""; the quoting looks to be erroneous.

Under the SC filetype(), UTF-16LE is listed twice.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

Oh dear. It should be like this:

Code: Select all

$file = inputfile("<curpath>", "rar;zip", "Select an archive to extract in the current folder"); open quote("winrar") . " x " . quote($file) . " " .  quote("<curpath>\");

jupe
Posts: 2749
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by jupe »

Under SC sync notes, there is this word "patternst" in the 3rd bullet point.

LittleBiG
Posts: 1846
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by LittleBiG »

At last I also managed to find something :mrgreen: It is under the tab() command in the help:
"move" = move a tab to a new position

data: The new position (first position is 1; defaults to 1). Position 0 (zero) is the last position. Positions smaller than 0 are calculated from the right end: -1 = pre-last position etc. Positions higher than the number of tabs are treated like zero: tab is moved to the last position.

index: tab to filter from (if missing then current tab)

return: the new position
It became the victim of a copy-paste.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

Thanks, guys!

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by klownboy »

Don in the Help file under Custom Event Actions in Configuration, you may want to mention that multiple scripts or script files may be entered in the script section. You mention this in the beta notes, but I didn't see anything here in the help file. I assume form the beta notes and my own experiences testing that each script line or script files should (as normal) end with ";". So the following are acceptable:
on one line:
load "test_1.xys";|load "test_2.xys";
or
on multiple lines:
echo "hello";
load "test_1.xys";

Xyplorer will quote the entire script(s) as a whole when saving such that the first example above will look like the following in XYplorer.ini .
CEA_AfterBrowse_Script="load "test_1.xys";|load "test_2.xys";"

Edit: for my own info, I assume if you only have one script or script file for a CEA script entry, you don't necessarily need to end the line with ";" since many of my originally scripts for CEAs before the GUI do not end with ";" as I see them in XYplorer.ini.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

Before I look into this: you separate scripts by | (pipe)??

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by klownboy »

Hi Don, I know you didn't specifically mention using pipes in the beta notes, but I honestly thought you did somewhere else. In any case, something like this does work.
load "D:\Tools\XYplorer\Scripts\DiskSpace.xys";|echo "Hello";
or another example,
echo "Hello";|echo "Goodbye";
Those are cut and pasted from Configuration. Of course XYplorer adds a set of quotes surrounding the whole thing in the ini file.

I just wanted to mention multiple scripts use in the help file. If a new line is the preferred way, stick with that.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

I don't know where you have seen this but it's wrong.

echo "Hello";|echo "Goodbye"; just works by chance, and is functionally identical to echo "Hello";echo "Goodbye"; (just dropped the |).

It works by chance due to this rather recent enhancement:

Code: Select all

v21.10.0039 -2020-10-06 17:34
    + Scripting: Now you can add a prefix to each command to modify its 
      behavior. Currently one prefix is implemented:
        e       = skip the big error debugging dialog
      The prefix is separated from the command by | (pipe). For example, when 
      you run this command in the drives listing:
        rename , '*-<datem yyyymmdd>';      //shows error dialog
        e|rename , '*-<datem yyyymmdd>';    //skips error dialog

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by klownboy »

OK great Don, thanks for clarifying why the pipe unintentionally worked, but was wrong and certainly not needed. So I'll just separate scripts (or script files) as you normally would with ";" or put them on separate lines with lines ending with ";". By the way I have syntax checking always on and that doesn't report an issue with using the pipe and your explanation is why. :tup: :beer:
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

jupe
Posts: 2749
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by jupe »

Just letting you know that a user request, to add MUT to the Glossary was made, which made me also notice a couple other things, CEA is listed as a planned feature, but is now incorporated, and the list is also missing LFB MUSD, not sure if you want to add them.

Another tiny thing I noticed is that under scripting help, get("darkness") & get("darkcontrast") the opening quotes are excluded from the yellowish box.

Image

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

Wow, that Glossary was extremely outdated. I added some other things as well. :tup:

Also added the Glossary to the "Getting Started" top level node in the Help.

ghost zero
Posts: 840
Joined: 26 Apr 2010 17:48

Typo...

Post by ghost zero »

https://www.xyplorer.com/release_21.80.php

Typo...

The "dice" and the "hand" character hard hardly recognizable

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Website and Help Typos

Post by admin »

Merci!

Post Reply