Page 1 of 1

Deselect marker

Posted: 13 Aug 2026 13:08
by Native2904
I’ve recently come to really appreciate many of XYplorer’s features that are new to me – but there’s one thing I can’t quite figure out, as I don’t know how to turn it off:
2026-08-13_125911.png
The most obvious explanation I’ve found was:
Ctrl+Shift+F5 Reset List: update the data, scroll back to top, set focus to the first item (if any), unselect any selections.
It’s not that it bothers me – I just don’t know (yet) what the consequences are, and I was wondering how to remove this (blue, left) mark.

Re: Deselect marker

Posted: 13 Aug 2026 13:30
by highend
Configuration | Colors and Styles | Styles | Clipboard Markers | Colored lines

Re: Deselect marker

Posted: 13 Aug 2026 14:03
by Native2904
Hi Highend,
Does this mean, conversely, that if I color-mark the files in the list and then press Ctrl+C to prepare them for copying (the blue bar appears), I can use Shift+Alt+A to remove the color markings without the blue marking disappearing — and that the files therefore remain in the clipboard for the copy operation, even though they are no longer color-marked or selected in the file list?!?

Re: Deselect marker

Posted: 13 Aug 2026 14:50
by highend
They are just there to know which files were put into clipboard (either for copying or moving). As long as your keyboard shortcut doesn't modify the clipboard content...

Re: Deselect marker

Posted: 13 Aug 2026 14:56
by RalphM
I don't know where the Shift+Alt+A shortcut comes from and what it is supposed to do but it certainly doesn't change the display of the copy markers on my system.
The markers disappear as soon as the clipboard is cleared or if you switch them off completely in the configuration.
They are meant to remind you which files are in the clipboard, so being able to turn them off without clearing the clipboard doesn't sound very logical - to me at least.

Re: Deselect marker

Posted: 13 Aug 2026 15:23
by Native2904
RalphM wrote: 13 Aug 2026 14:56 I don't know where the Shift+Alt+A shortcut comes from and what it is supposed to do but it certainly doesn't change the display of the copy markers on my system.
The markers disappear as soon as the clipboard is cleared or if you switch them off completely in the configuration.
They are meant to remind you which files are in the clipboard, so being able to turn them off without clearing the clipboard doesn't sound very logical - to me at least.
Hi RalphM,

Yes, I’ve understood it now; there were some points that weren’t clear.

from here!

you are right (!) I made a typo - Ctrl+Shift+A
2026-08-13_152245.png