XY is set to default, yet 'This PC' + 'Recycle Bin' desktop icons open in Win Explorer.

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
GreenBerries

XY is set to default, yet 'This PC' + 'Recycle Bin' desktop icons open in Win Explorer.

Post by GreenBerries »

As the title says. How to change the behavior of these desktop icons to open in XY instead of Win Explorer?

xy123

Re: XY is set to default, yet 'This PC' + 'Recycle Bin' desktop icons open in Win Explorer.

Post by xy123 »

Read this post and the next one for solution.

GreenBerries

Re: XY is set to default, yet 'This PC' + 'Recycle Bin' desktop icons open in Win Explorer.

Post by GreenBerries »

OK... thx for your response, however i have no clue what to do with it now. I have no experience with coding and assumed i was supposed to alter those registry keys but they are not present at all in my Win11 registry. Do i have to create these keys? If yes could u provide basic guidance as to how this is done? Sorry for my ignorance.

highend

Post by highend »

viewtopic.php?p=214539#p214539

has the registry settings (although they are currently not complete because they will only open XYplorer but not in the correct location) in code tags.
You'd need to copy that stuff, put it in a new file with the extension ".reg" and double click it afterwards to import it...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

GreenBerries

Post by GreenBerries »

Thx for quick answer.

Before i go messing around with registry let me clarify: these keys will open XY at the last/default location rather than 'My PC' and 'Recycle Bin' as intended. Correct?
This seems to defeat the purpose and i am better off using XY taskbar icon - as already suggested in the posts u provided me in the first place - and go to the desired location myself.