Current selection is being reset when folder is auto-refreshed and a copy/move operation is running
Posted: 21 Sep 2022 00:21
If a folder has new files being written to it and you select a bunch of files, the selection gets reset on every file list update meaning you can't select nor do anything with the other files in that folder unless you Ctrl+R or suspend auto refresh, all of this only happens if a move or copy operation is currently being processed, once the move operation finishes the selection stops being reset. And to be more precise, the move/copy operation doesn't have to be to or from this directory.
In my case I had a file being written into a directory on drive P, also I was moving a file from drive E to drive C. While all of this was happening if I tried to select any files on the folder of the drive P the selection was being reset (or deselected, I don't know why that word feels ugly to me), once the moving operation from E to C completed the selection didn't reset anymore.
If it matters: Drive C and E are local drives, drive P is a mounted network share.
In my case I had a file being written into a directory on drive P, also I was moving a file from drive E to drive C. While all of this was happening if I tried to select any files on the folder of the drive P the selection was being reset (or deselected, I don't know why that word feels ugly to me), once the moving operation from E to C completed the selection didn't reset anymore.
If it matters: Drive C and E are local drives, drive P is a mounted network share.