Page 1 of 1
Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 30 Nov 2016 23:43
by Millzey
I'm having a frustrating problem and I've tried various combinations of refresh and file operations options but nothing is helping. I've had this problem for quite some time, currrently using 17.4.100
My workflow is very often making a few selections and performing a move operation, and making a few more new selections while the file operation is working. But when the move completes my selections are lost. My multitasking is crippled.
I've tried enabling Queue File operations, disabling the progress dialog, and no auto-refresh duing file operations. Here are my baseline desired settings in the screenshot
Thanks for any help
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 01 Dec 2016 15:46
by admin
Does it also happen when you completely turn off Auto-Refresh?
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 02 Dec 2016 02:26
by RalphM
If XY updates the selection status in the list after it finished the last move operation, isn't it logical that you loose any new selections.
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 05 Dec 2016 06:31
by Millzey
Yes it still removes my selections if I have Auto Refresh disabled, or suspended.
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 05 Dec 2016 09:28
by admin
Is that an intra volume or a cross volume move?
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 10 Dec 2016 08:38
by Millzey
Cross volume - intra volume would probably happen so fast I couldnt make a new selection in time
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 11 Dec 2016 10:59
by admin
RalphM wrote:If XY updates the selection status in the list after it finished the last move operation, isn't it logical that you loose any new selections.
Just to answer this: No, XY is smart enough to keep any selections when the list is refreshed. And I fail to make this fail.
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 11 Dec 2016 11:02
by admin
Millzey wrote:Cross volume - intra volume would probably happen so fast I couldnt make a new selection in time
True.
But I still cannot make this happen here. Just to make sure: You are selecting files in the same list, same tab, same folder?
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 12 Dec 2016 01:44
by Millzey
Correct. Then I use usually use a KB shortcut to open the Copy/Move context menu (#151) and choose a destination
If I switch to the inactive pane and make selections they are kept after the operation finishes.
While writing this reply I tried a few toggles, and apparently its the "History retains selections" unchecked which causes this. I have always left this unchecked because anytime I needed to restore mistakenly lost selections, the Edit -> Select -> Restore Selection command was suffcient
Re: Selections lost after file operation completes
Posted: 12 Dec 2016 10:20
by admin
I still cannot reproduce it, with "History retains selections" checked or unchecked. There must be another factor. Mysterious.