"Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
aurumdigitus
Posts: 1009
Joined: 30 May 2008 21:02
Location: Lake Erie

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by aurumdigitus » 22 Sep 2010 19:08

Never really cared for the If...Then...Else construction.

Concatenating this thread is it preferable to change startup.ini to C:\Program Files\XYplorer\Data\ and put XYplorer.ini there?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 46920
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by admin » 22 Sep 2010 19:35

aurumdigitus wrote:Never really cared for the If...Then...Else construction.

Concatenating this thread is it preferable to change startup.ini to C:\Program Files\XYplorer\Data\ and put XYplorer.ini there?
Yes, it's preferable to what you have now.

So what you do now is:
1) you open XYplorer

2) you move these items (the first four are folders) from C:\Program Files\XYplorer\ to C:\Program Files\XYplorer\Data\:

FindTemplates
NewItems
Panes
Scripts
catalog.dat
fvs.dat
ks.dat
lastini.dat
tag.dat
udc.dat
XYplorer.ini

Overwrite anything in C:\Program Files\XYplorer\Data\ if prompted.

3) Then you edit C:\Program Files\XYplorer\Startup.ini like this (sic: empty value):

Code: Select all

[Appdata]
Path=
4) Then you close XYplorer without Saving.

5) Restart XYplorer.

That should be it.

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5822
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by j_c_hallgren » 22 Sep 2010 19:51

admin wrote:That should be it.
What about action.dat and CatalogDefault.dat? What are the proper places for these? Just wanted to get it documented here...
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

aurumdigitus
Posts: 1009
Joined: 30 May 2008 21:02
Location: Lake Erie

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by aurumdigitus » 22 Sep 2010 20:09

admin wrote:Yes, it's preferable to what you have now.
Seems pretty heavy duty but will try in attempt to preclude future difficulties - knock on Formica.

How did installation get tangled up? (Hypothesis: at some point switched between Install and Portable upgrade packages.)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 46920
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by admin » 22 Sep 2010 20:27

j_c_hallgren wrote:
admin wrote:That should be it.
What about action.dat and CatalogDefault.dat? What are the proper places for these? Just wanted to get it documented here...
Whoops, yes action.dat too. CatalogDefault.dat no, it stays in app path (it is never modified).

aurumdigitus
Posts: 1009
Joined: 30 May 2008 21:02
Location: Lake Erie

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by aurumdigitus » 22 Sep 2010 20:52

"Go to Application Data folder" doesn't - following Don's instructions on altering application folder structure IT DOE'S NOW.

BTW - Had to use Configuration|Thumbnails to alter that path after changes.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 46920
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: "Go to Application Data folder" doesn't

Post by admin » 22 Sep 2010 21:29

aurumdigitus wrote:"Go to Application Data folder" doesn't - following Don's instructions on altering application folder structure IT DOE'S NOW.

BTW - Had to use Configuration|Thumbnails to alter that path after changes.
Oh yes, good find. This path should have been defined in a softer way by factory default. Fixed in next version.

Post Reply