Refresh icon overlays

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

Hi

I use TortoiseSVN and I have a problem with icon overlay.
With TortoiseSVN, when a file changes, the icon also changes (from a green check to a red exclamation mark).
In Windows Explorer, it is OK. But the new icon is not automatically refreshed in XY:
- overlay is never refreshed in tree list, I need to "Refresh Current Folder" to be OK
- sometimes (according to the actions in TSVN) overlay disapears in file list, I need to "Refresh File List" to be OK
(Auto-Refresh is activated in my XY configuration).

I have the same problem with another application using icon overlay : NTFS Link.

It is not really a bug but maybe a desire for improvement ;o)

JML.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

Ah, this is the time to introduce a scripting command that's only meant for debugging: logchange.

Run this script
::logchange 1
and then do any of your icon-changing actions.
Do you get a message box?

:!: I just saw there's a bug here: you get many message boxes stacked on each other until you press ESC! This bug will be fixed in the next version.

JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

Yes I have a message box :
- when I update a file, I see 49 message boxes "Change detected 28 (1C)".
- when I cancel the changes in the same file, I see 49 messages boxes "Change detected 16 (10)".

With these 2 actions, the file list is correctly refreshed but the tree list is not refreshed.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

JML13 wrote:Yes I have a message box :
- when I update a file, I see 49 message boxes "Change detected 28 (1C)".
- when I cancel the changes in the same file, I see 49 messages boxes "Change detected 16 (10)".

With these 2 actions, the file list is correctly refreshed but the tree list is not refreshed.
So the list is refreshed correctly? :?
And when you say tree, you mean the current tree folder icon, right?

JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

I have performed some addition tests.
Here are the screenshots in order to be clearer :wink:

I have a folder C:\TEMP\Test3 managed by TortoiseSVN. And I update a file (20071119.txt) with text editor.
If I am located in C:\TEMP, I can see before updating :
Image

And after updating (autorefreshed by Windows Explorer) :
Image


If I am located in C:\TEMP\Test3, I can see before updating :
Image

And after updating (autorefreshed by Windows Explorer) :
Image
The tree and the file list are correctly refreshed.

Now with XYplorer, if I am located in C:\TEMP, I can see before and after updating :
Image
XYplorer does not refresh the tree and the list. There is no message box.

Then I go into Test3 folder, I can see :
Image
Test3 icon in tree is not in accordance with its content :cry:


Now with XYplorer, if I am located in C:\TEMP\Test3, I can see before updating :
Image

And after updating :
Image
There is a message box "change Detected 28 (1C)", the list is refreshed but not the tree.

Then I go into C:\TEMP folder, I can see :
Image

If I "Refresh Current folder" (in View menu), I can see (all is correctly refreshed) :
Image

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

JML13 wrote:I have performed some addition tests.
Here are the screenshots in order to be clearer :wink:
I see very clear now. :)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

admin wrote:
JML13 wrote:I have performed some addition tests.
Here are the screenshots in order to be clearer :wink:
I see very clear now. :)
Okay, should be fixed in the next beta version.

I had to write special code for icon overlay auto-refresh. If "Show Icon Overlays" is ON then:
(1) Whenever the current list is auto-refreshed, the current tree node is too.
(2) The watch is deep: also all subfolders of the current folder are watched for changes.

JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

Thanks but... it does not seem to work for me with 7.60.0010 :?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

JML13 wrote:Thanks but... it does not seem to work for me with 7.60.0010 :?
Both parts don't work?
1/ Update Tree icon
2/ Update list when item in subfolder of current folder changes

JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

admin wrote:Both parts don't work?
1/ Update Tree icon
2/ Update list when item in subfolder of current folder changes
None of them :(

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

JML13 wrote:
admin wrote:Both parts don't work?
1/ Update Tree icon
2/ Update list when item in subfolder of current folder changes
None of them :(
Okay, next version might run a little better.

JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

admin wrote:Okay, next version might run a little better.
Better but not perfect.
When I update a file located in the folder I browse, the tree and the list are correctly updated.
When I update a file located in another folder than the folder I browse, the tree and the list are not updated.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

JML13 wrote:When I update a file located in another folder than the folder I browse, the tree and the list are not updated.
Please use ::logchange 1; again and tell me about the message (if any).

Is this a subfolder of the current folder? Else it will not work.

JML13
Posts: 48
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 09:54
Location: Marseille, France

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by JML13 »

admin wrote:Please use ::logchange 1; again and tell me about the message (if any).
Message ==> Change Detected 28 (1C)
admin wrote:Is this a subfolder of the current folder? Else it will not work.
Yes, in a subfolder.


Other things :
- when I rename (using File/Rename) a file managed by SVN, the tree and the list are not updated (and there is no popup message)
- when I rename (using TortoiseSVN feature) a file managed by SVN, the tree is not updated, the icon overlay disapears in the list and there is a popup message (Change Detected 29 (1D))
- when I commit the changes using TSVN, icon overlay disapears...

Here is documentation bout icon overlay for TSVN : http://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/Tor ... gs-overlay

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Refresh icon overlays

Post by admin »

JML13 wrote:
admin wrote:Please use ::logchange 1; again and tell me about the message (if any).
Message ==> Change Detected 28 (1C)
admin wrote:Is this a subfolder of the current folder? Else it will not work.
Yes, in a subfolder.


Other things :
- when I rename (using File/Rename) a file managed by SVN, the tree and the list are not updated (and there is no popup message)
- when I rename (using TortoiseSVN feature) a file managed by SVN, the tree is not updated, the icon overlay disapears in the list and there is a popup message (Change Detected 29 (1D))
- when I commit the changes using TSVN, icon overlay disapears...

Here is documentation bout icon overlay for TSVN : http://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/Tor ... gs-overlay
I will have to test this myself. I deleted my TSVN test installation long ago. Could you please give a minimal step-by-step way to set up a test folder/subfolders with icon overlays?

Post Reply