Problem with property()

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

Hi there - I'm back after quite a long timeout...

...and starting with a bug. That's me. :whistle:

OK: working with the property() function for some objects. That is: selecting some object in pane1, then executing

Code: Select all

 $prop	= Property("#$i n");
for $i = 1 to 333, dropping each empty result, and formatting it a bit.

If c: is selected, I often get no return at all. (Sometimes the same as for d:)

If d: is selected:
1 .................................. Größe = 'Lokaler Datenträger'
2 ............................. Elementtyp = '60,6 GB'
3 ......................... Änderungsdatum = '58,2 GB'
4 ........................... Erstelldatum = 'NTFS'
7 .......................... Offlinestatus = '4%'
8 .......................... Verfügbarkeit = '58,2 GB frei von 60,6 GB'
(Looks like garbage, doesn't it?)

Next is d:\Data (seems to be dependent of sequence? See below!): no return.

Next d:\Data\Progs:
2 ............................. Elementtyp = 'Dateiordner'
3 ......................... Änderungsdatum = '27.12.2023 19:59'
4 ........................... Erstelldatum = '27.12.2023 19:59'
5 ........................ Letzter Zugriff = '04.04.2024 22:22'
6 .............................. Attribute = 'DI'
9 .......................... Erkannter Typ = 'Unbekannt'
10 ............................... Besitzer = 'PCC\Peter'
11 .................................... Art = 'Ordner'
19 .............................. Bewertung = 'Nicht bewertet'
57 ............................ Gesamtgröße = '60,6 GB'
61 ............................... Computer = 'PCC (dieser PC)'
165 .............................. Dateiname = 'Progs'
169 ................... Freier Speicherplatz = '58,2 GB'
187 ............................ Freigegeben = 'Nein'
190 ............................. Ordnername = 'Data'
191 ....................... Dateispeicherort = 'D:\Data'
192 ................................. Ordner = 'Data (D:)'
194 ................................... Pfad = 'D:\Data\Progs'
196 .................................... Typ = 'Dateiordner'
202 ..................... Verknüpfungsstatus = 'Nicht aufgelöst'
254 .............. Verwendeter Speicherplatz = '3%'
295 ......................... Freigabestatus = 'Nicht freigegeben'
THIS LOOKS GOOD, doesn't it? :party:

Via "back" to d:\Data:
2 ............................. Elementtyp = 'Dateiordner'
3 ......................... Änderungsdatum = '29.03.2024 23:55'
4 ........................... Erstelldatum = '27.12.2023 19:59'
5 ........................ Letzter Zugriff = '04.04.2024 22:22'
6 .............................. Attribute = 'DI'
9 .......................... Erkannter Typ = 'Unbekannt'
10 ............................... Besitzer = 'PCC\Peter'
11 .................................... Art = 'Ordner'
19 .............................. Bewertung = 'Nicht bewertet'
57 ............................ Gesamtgröße = '60,6 GB'
61 ............................... Computer = 'PCC (dieser PC)'
165 .............................. Dateiname = 'Data'
169 ................... Freier Speicherplatz = '58,2 GB'
187 ............................ Freigegeben = 'Nein'
190 ............................. Ordnername = 'D:\'
191 ....................... Dateispeicherort = 'D:\'
192 ................................. Ordner = 'D:\'
194 ................................... Pfad = 'D:\Data'
196 .................................... Typ = 'Dateiordner'
202 ..................... Verknüpfungsstatus = 'Nicht aufgelöst'
254 .............. Verwendeter Speicherplatz = '3%'
295 ......................... Freigabestatus = 'Nicht freigegeben'
NOW IT'S GOOD, too?????

In the end:
each folder of level 2 or deeper: OK
Folder level 1: some so, some so
Local disk (or remote on NAS): never OK, sometimes empty, sometimes garbage.

What's going on???

Just to say: the return
Größe = 'Lokaler Datenträger'
is one single return to

Code: Select all

 $prop	= Property("#1 n");  // Returns Value and Name
i.e. it's directly returned garbled this way.

Note: Win11, XY 25.80 (Must still change that info)
(First tested with several older XY-Versions: same.)
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

Is this a long way of telling me that property() does not support drives? I know that. :)

PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

Oh - I didn't expect it doesn't, and found it strange, i.e. a bug.
And I didn't expect you know it's so.

And sometimes it doesn't support first-level folders.
(Maybe, if you directly first try a drive, then that folder?)
When I have some time I'll test to see if there's a pattern...

Have a fine (and warm :biggrin: ) weekend!
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

PeterH wrote: 06 Apr 2024 12:26 And sometimes it doesn't support first-level folders.
Not here.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

Now I could fix the discrepancy between fieldname and value! So thanks for complaining! Enjoy the summer! :)

PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

Edit -- happens on fresh, too -- /Edit

Just tested:
- new start XY
- select c:
- test properties: garbled
- double click c:, select Users
- test properties: no reply for any number !!!
- repeat both (0 to any times) no change
- double click users, sel your userid
- properties: all corrrect
- back to Users
- all replies OK now!!

Same for d:

All reproducible

Glad if 1 problem is (will be) gone :tup:
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

Just weird. You select them in the tree?

PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

:shock: No - as long as I'm navigating just 1 up/down I usually do (and did it here) in pane!
Just tried it in tree - and the 1st level problem doesn't appear! :shock:

Didn't expect something like that. (And it seems vice versa.)
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

Probably some misunderstanding. Can you show a screenshot?

PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

OK: I'll try

Sequence as before, from XY start, *all* actions in pane1

start | select c: | call properties | doubleclick c: | select Users | properties
hardcopy: t1.jpg
doubleclick Users | select Peter | properties
Mousebutton back (to c:) | select Users | properties
hardcopy t2.jpg

Is it what you wanted?
Attachments
t2.jpg
t2.jpg (290.29 KiB) Viewed 166 times
t1.jpg
t1.jpg (195.7 KiB) Viewed 166 times
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

"doubleclick", "hardcopy", "properties"? No no no. Try again. Be exact. doubleclick where? hardcopy??? properties???

PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

OK, I'll try better:

"hardcopy"=screencopy: create the attached pictures

"properties": as mentioned in the very first post:
a script, (named prop#), looping $i from 1 to 333, and for each executing
$prop = Property("#$i n");
then skipping each "" return
print each result as a (somehow formated) line
called by Scripting / Load Script File... / -select it-
(to be more exact I'll attach it. It doesn't change anything, only read properties and print them.)

"doubleclick"
OK, first: when I start XY my tree always is on "Dieser PC", each pane shows c:
>>>>> EDIT: Isn't this typical for "fresh"? \EDIT <<<<<
As said: each following action is done in pane1. (1 tab only)
Be it the pane, or if necessary the breadcrumb.
So, e.g. in the attached picture, a double click on "Users" has only one location.
I'd think this is true for every mentioned action - or did I miss something?

Without writing a book (I wouldn't dare to) this seems the best explanation?

So: soon I'll be out - no more response for quite some time.
Attachments
prop#.xys
(1.19 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

It's probably a case of implicit selection, where the selected item is NOT the current item. SC property() without an explicit item parameter defaults to current path/item. You can tell the current item by looking at the status bar.

PeterH
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 20:39
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with property()

Post by PeterH »

First: your fix is fine: properties of c: look OK - no scrambling any more :tup:

But: your last info didn't help!
E.g. can't find out how to control current item, and how to interpret status (bar) display.
In general in status I see the name of the folder I've selected, but *sometimes* there's "something like a symbol" left above the beginning of the name. Maybe only pixel dirt?
- Just happened to see it in status: above the icon of C:\ - looks like a small square, built of 4 tiny blue squares.

To ensure about curr status I added display of 3 variables to top of my script: <curname>, <focitem> and <selitem>
focitem and selitem *always* show the folder I've clicked on, while curname sometimes is empty. BUT: this doesn't correlate to the problems of the property display!

Before the fix (*very* seldom, and non-reproducible) c: appeared with no properties. Didn't test now often enough to happen.
(In between the time it happened once on d: - direct after XY-start. Restarted, retried: properties ARE shown, but CurrItem is empty :whistle: )

The prev description for c: - c:\Users - c:\Users\Peter - c:\Users - c: in general is like before.
Win11 Pro 223H2 Gerrman

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60635
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Problem with property()

Post by admin »

Well, I cannot make it happen.

Post Reply