Update the current list when program is activated

Features wanted...
Julian
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Dec 2022 08:24

Update the current list when program is activated

Post by Julian »

Very often I work with my files and in XY the directory is outdated. New files are not displayed automatically.
I understand the directory watch event is difficult to implement but it should be pretty easy to execute the F5 action in the windows WM_ACTIVATE message.

RalphM
Posts: 1927
Joined: 27 Jan 2005 23:38
Location: Cairns, Australia

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by RalphM »

You might want to check out CEA (Custom Event Actions) where you can set whatever you want to happen on location changes and so much more.
Ralph :)
(OS: W11 22H2 Home x64 - XY: Current beta - Office 2019 32-bit - Display: 1920x1080 @ 125%)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60146
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by admin »

Very often? It happens here very rarely and only in connection with programs that fail to notify Windows when they create or change a file. So can you talk about the context?

eil
Posts: 1608
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 19:44

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by eil »

Julian wrote: 29 Nov 2023 11:43 Very often I work with my files and in XY the directory is outdated.
Just to be sure, check that you have View > Auto-Refresh enabled.
Win 7 SP1 x64 100% 1366x768

Julian
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Dec 2022 08:24

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by Julian »

"Automatisch aktualisieren" has a check mark.

I now toggled that setting off-on - I have to check when it happens. With notepad I cannot reproduce now.

autocart
Posts: 1241
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by autocart »

I also notice that the auto refresh does not always work 100 % of the time. I would say, it works >95 %, though. If it fails, then I think it mostly fails in OneDrive folders.

Anyway, as you indicate yourself, my life experience also tells me that XY is not the only software that sometimes struggles with refresh issues. A refresh on activate may sound nice but with long lists or on network paths, I am not sure if that could cause delays on each activation. Maybe not, but that thought just crossed my mind. Maybe as a tweak for the brave?

Julian
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Dec 2022 08:24

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by Julian »

I can reproduce the problem like this:

Write text.docx (i.e. with Word)
Use right drag (or CTRL C,V) to copy to a new file (this creates "text-kopie.docx")
Rename (F2) "text-kopie.docx" to "text.zip"
Double click on text.zip to open 7-zip
Use the extract button and extract to a sub folder called "text"
Close 7-ZIP

>>> The sub folder "text" is not there in XY

highend
Posts: 13212
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by highend »

Reproduced this, see the .gif...
Animation.gif
Animation.gif (793.47 KiB) Viewed 531 times
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

Julian
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Dec 2022 08:24

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by Julian »

Yes, it works when you create a new file.

It never works when I do this before I open the file
Use right drag (or CTRL C,V) to copy to a new file (this creates "text-kopie.docx")

I do not want to proove myself right here, I want to give the developer a possibility to track down this glitch.

Edit: Sorry - and thanks for showing the glitch in the GIF
Last edited by Julian on 19 Dec 2023 08:53, edited 1 time in total.

autocart
Posts: 1241
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by autocart »

Julian wrote: 16 Dec 2023 11:37 I do not want to proove myself right here, I want to give the developer a possibility to track down this glitch.
Maybe I misunderstand you, but highend is supporting your case by showing in his GIF that you are correct.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60146
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by admin »

I could repro it once and then never again. :eh: I see nothing in XY I could do about it.

Julian
Posts: 48
Joined: 16 Dec 2022 08:24

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by Julian »

@highend
Sorry - and thanks for showing the glitch in the GIF.

@admin - what about updating the list when XY regains the focus (see caption of this thread).

And - this is just one case where it happens, it happens in other cases, too.
For me quite frequently. Sometimes I have new folders in the list, but they are not in the tree.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60146
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by admin »

No, that's not practical. But there are plans to look at Refresh for a general overhaul anyway.

autocart
Posts: 1241
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by autocart »

I just realized, that as a workaround, you could use a really very simple AHK script to update XY at every window activation.

Code: Select all

#requires AutoHotkey v2+

while 1
    {
        WinWaitActive("ahk_class ThunderRT6FormDC ahk_exe XYplorer.exe")
        ; Sleep 20
        Send "{F5}"
        WinWaitNotActive("ahk_class ThunderRT6FormDC ahk_exe XYplorer.exe")
    }
refreshXYatEachActivation.zip
(338 Bytes) Downloaded 9 times
If you want to try it but need help in doing so, just ask.

highend
Posts: 13212
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Update the current list when program is activated

Post by highend »

Please use a shellhook for such kind of stuff, not a while 1 loop :biggrin:
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

Post Reply