XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
Post Reply
FKF5482
Posts: 60
Joined: 06 Apr 2019 04:21

XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by FKF5482 » 14 Sep 2019 10:41

I'm having problem when i'm trying to change the color for the inactive pane. The color i set it to is working only until i restart XYplorer. When XYplorer is restarted it changes to the factory default color and i have to set it again.

I don't know if it's a bug or im doing something wrong, so any help is welcome.

As always thanks in advance.

Image

nas8e9
Posts: 2058
Joined: 21 Jun 2008 14:50

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by nas8e9 » 14 Sep 2019 14:36

Does saving the config (File > Save Settings) immediately after changing the color, help?

FKF5482
Posts: 60
Joined: 06 Apr 2019 04:21

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by FKF5482 » 14 Sep 2019 14:51

No, unfortunately not.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47994
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by admin » 15 Sep 2019 11:47

Which color are you setting it to?

FKF5482
Posts: 60
Joined: 06 Apr 2019 04:21

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by FKF5482 » 15 Sep 2019 13:26

Image

The color code is shown in the previous image i've posted. The code is 000000.

I hope it helps.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47994
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by admin » 15 Sep 2019 13:41

That's the cause of the problem. The value 0 (= hex 000000) is interpreted by XYplorer as "take the factory default value". :)

Solution: Take 010101 instead. You won't see the difference and it will stick.

FKF5482
Posts: 60
Joined: 06 Apr 2019 04:21

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by FKF5482 » 15 Sep 2019 13:56

omg lol!

Worked like a charm, thank you very much, it was driving me crazy :)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47994
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by admin » 15 Sep 2019 14:01

Well, you could not know this. I admit it's a design weakness. But I did not come up with a good solution yet. Sorry for driving you crazy. :)

Gandolf
Posts: 1018
Joined: 14 Jun 2004 20:19

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by Gandolf » 16 Sep 2019 04:37

admin wrote:
15 Sep 2019 13:41
The value 0 (= hex 000000) is interpreted by XYplorer as "take the factory default value". :)
Why not leave the entry blank to use the default?
Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47994
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by admin » 16 Sep 2019 09:33

That would work (and I do this in most cases) but these here are numeric data types for performance reasons. OTOH those decisions are from times when computesr were slower. So I might indeed revise them...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47994
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by admin » 16 Sep 2019 16:35

The issue is handled in v20.40.0006. Now you can use 000000. :)

FKF5482
Posts: 60
Joined: 06 Apr 2019 04:21

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by FKF5482 » 17 Sep 2019 08:08

You are awesome, thanks :)

jupe
Posts: 1244
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: 1909 x64

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by jupe » 21 Sep 2019 09:20

@Don: I think a bug has maybe crept in since this change, now when running fresh, I get the inactive pane background in black, also in the config window the default color for TPT/location pins/locked tree is black now, although they are all still able to be reset to the old correct defaults.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47994
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: XYplorer doesn't remember inactive pane color

Post by admin » 21 Sep 2019 13:46

jupe wrote:
21 Sep 2019 09:20
@Don: I think a bug has maybe crept in since this change, now when running fresh, I get the inactive pane background in black, also in the config window the default color for TPT/location pins/locked tree is black now, although they are all still able to be reset to the old correct defaults.
Madonna!! :ninja: Next beta...

Post Reply