Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
Post Reply
daniel347x
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Apr 2014 15:54

Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Post by daniel347x »

Hello -

The only thing that stands between me, and using multiple tabsets, is the lack of a toolbar button to automatically open a particular named tabset (and another to automatically save it, and yet another to automatically revert it).

I couldn't figure out how to do this after a few minutes of hunting around menus and after a quick search in the forums.

Would it be possible? If so - how is it done?

Thanks!
Dan

bdeshi
Posts: 4256
Joined: 12 Mar 2014 17:27
Location: Asteroid B-612
Contact:

Re: Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Post by bdeshi »

There is a toolbar button for tabsets already, but it can't do one-click ops as you want.

Anyways, there is a scripting command exclusively for tabsets: tabset. And here's one CTB to do it all.

But first, go into Tools -> Config -> Refresh, Icons, History, and enable "Remember Permanent Variables".

Now open Scripting -> Run Script, a textbox will open, copy-paste the following (minified) code there.

Code: Select all

 perm $Pref_13483_TabSet1 = input("Preferred Tabset name for FIRST Pane",,isset($Pref_13483_TabSet1)?$Pref_13483_TabSet1:'');
 perm $Pref_13483_TabSet2 = input("Preferred Tabset name for SECOND Pane",,isset($Pref_13483_TabSet2)?$Pref_13483_TabSet2:'');
 $data = "Snip: CTB 1<crlf>  <crlf>Action<crlf>  NewUserButton<crlf>Name<crlf>  Quick-Tabset-Ops<crlf>Icon<crlf>  :tablist<crlf>ScriptL<crlf>  ".'"Load Tabset ($Pref_13483_TabSet<get pane>)"'."<crlf>   ".'tabset(load, eval(''$Pref_13483_TabSet''.<get pane>));'."<crlf>  ".'"Save Tabset ($Pref_13483_TabSet<get pane>)"'."<crlf>   ".'tabset(save,eval(''$Pref_13483_TabSet''.<get pane>));'."<crlf>  ".'"Revert Tabset ($Pref_13483_TabSet<get pane>)"'."<crlf>   tabset(revert, eval(".'''$Pref_13483_TabSet''.<get pane>));'."<crlf>ScriptR<crlf>  ""Edit preferred tabsets""<crlf>   ".'perm $Pref_13483_TabSet1 = input("Preferred Tabset name for FIRST Pane",,isset($Pref_13483_TabSet1)?$Pref_13483_TabSet1:"");'."<crlf>   ".'perm $Pref_13483_TabSet2 = input("Preferred Tabset name for SECOND Pane",,isset($Pref_13483_TabSet2)?$Pref_13483_TabSet2:"");'."<crlf>  ""-""<crlf>FireClick<crlf>  0";
 text $data, 750, 500, "this snippet was generated. Press CLOSE";
 snippet $data; $ctb=replace(gettoken(toolbar(),-1,","),"ctb");$var=7; while($var>=0){ctbstate($var%2,$ctb);wait 100;$var--}
[/size]With this script you can assign two different preferred tabsets for each pane. If that's not necessary, simply enter the same tabset name on both input prompts.
Icon Names | Onyx | Undocumented Commands | xypcre
[ this user is asleep ]

Stef123

Re: Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Post by Stef123 »

Or try SessionManager:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8691s
Don't know if it allows to call tabsets seperately for each pane, but it does a great job of saving, listing, reverting etc. both tabsets at once, if you use dual pane.

kunkel321
Posts: 645
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Post by kunkel321 »

Stef123 wrote:Or try SessionManager:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8691s
Don't know if it allows to call tabsets seperately for each pane, but it does a great job of saving, listing, reverting etc. both tabsets at once, if you use dual pane.
SessionManager is awesome! I use it every day. 8)
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

Stef123

Re: Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Post by Stef123 »

kunkel321 wrote:SessionManager is awesome! I use it every day. 8)
Same here. One of several scripts I could NOT do without. No exaggeration. I wish I had come across it earlier, or it had come bundled with XY or built-in. Sometimes I wonder how many trial-users give up before they ever get to great scripts like this.

BTW, you can access your current session right away in another instance. Makes up for XY's missing multi-tasking. I run ThumbnailMaintenance and BetterFileSelector - these scripts take a good while to run their course - but thanks to SessionManager I don't have to re-build the folder environment.

highend
Posts: 14158
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: Possible to have toolbar button to open / save a tabset?

Post by highend »

Unrelated to this thread:
BetterFileSelector - these scripts take a good while to run their course
I made it a lot faster on it's last release. Can you pm me an example on what it takes so long? (how many files, folders / branch view or not / what options do you choose, etc.)...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

Post Reply