Custom Columns

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master
Posts: 5824
Joined: 02 Jan 2006 19:34
Location: So. Chatham MA/Clearwater FL
Contact:

Re: Custom Columns

Post by j_c_hallgren » 21 Mar 2014 01:08

admin wrote:Yes, I'm not very excited about having to write the manual for this... :om:
That may take twice as long as coding for it! :wink:
Still spending WAY TOO much time here! But it's such a pleasure helping XY be a treasure!
(XP on laptop with touchpad and thus NO mouse!) Using latest beta vers when possible.

Enternal
Posts: 1174
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 18:26

Re: Custom Columns

Post by Enternal » 21 Mar 2014 04:05

j_c_hallgren wrote:
admin wrote:Yes, I'm not very excited about having to write the manual for this... :om:
That may take twice as long as coding for it! :wink:
And that's how it typically works. All the hard work and you think it's over... until you document it.

Well, either way, I can't wait till I see your release notes. Your release notes have always been really nice and colorful with many pictures and examples. It's like reading a modern textbook... but without the dryness.

kunkel321
Posts: 590
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: Custom Columns

Post by kunkel321 » 21 Mar 2014 16:35

kunkel321 wrote:... I have no idea how to customize these anymore....
Okay now I found it. Not sure why I didn't look in the Settings Config panel to start with (??) :whistle: Incidentally, I never did think of it... The only way I found the settings for CCs is that I right-clicked my 'Dimensions' column and saw "Configure All Custom Columns." That appears to be the only place that that menu item appears.... Shouldn't it be listed in most of the column context menus?
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49770
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Custom Columns

Post by admin » 21 Mar 2014 16:40

Hmmm, yes, agreed :)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

klownboy
Posts: 3024
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Custom Columns

Post by klownboy » 21 Mar 2014 17:11

I was having the same issue this morning until I remembered Custom Columns in Configuration. Thanks kunkel321 for bring it up and thank you Don for looking into it.

40k
Posts: 234
Joined: 09 Dec 2011 21:25

Re: Custom Columns

Post by 40k » 21 Mar 2014 23:48

admin wrote:Hmmm, yes, agreed :)
Regarding the name "Custom Columns":
Calibre has been using the same name for a feature they have.

http://blog.calibre-ebook.com/2011/11/c ... lumns.html

Just wanted to make sure you know. I'm not a legal expert by any stretch, but it may be worth keeping this in mind.
I develop scripts that integrate media functionality into Xyplorer.
Hash - Twitch.tv in VLC (NEW 2.0!) - FFmpeg GUI - Youtube downloading
XYplorer for Linux! Tutorial

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49770
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Custom Columns

Post by admin » 22 Mar 2014 08:32

No, I did not know this. Indeed it's the same name and concept. But I don't see a problem, custom columns is just an English term, right?, and I'm not planning to trademark it in any way.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

kunkel321
Posts: 590
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: Custom Columns

Post by kunkel321 » 22 Mar 2014 19:41

In Total Commander's setting panel there is also "Custom Columns." As you say, though, it's a pretty generic term.
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49770
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Custom Columns

Post by admin » 22 Mar 2014 19:46

So, TC has also scriptable columns?
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

kunkel321
Posts: 590
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: Custom Columns

Post by kunkel321 » 22 Mar 2014 20:53

admin wrote:So, TC has also scriptable columns?
To my knowledge, they are not natively scriptable, but do support plug-ins, of which there are many. The "Custom" in that case, is more like user-defined groups of columns that can be applied. Same with xplorer2... You can save "Column Sets." One of the TC plugin writers even tried to do something like "Context-Specific" columns http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/super_wdx.html. It's clunky and hasn't been worked on for the last 9 years, but it mostly works. I think the only other big player out there is your nemesis, Dopus. I'm not sure about its capabilities--but I'll bet XY is the only file manager anywhere that can do all of the above "out of the box." :ugeek:
Last edited by kunkel321 on 22 Mar 2014 21:10, edited 1 time in total.
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49770
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Custom Columns

Post by admin » 22 Mar 2014 21:01

OK, just want to back up my bold claim: "No file manager has ever gone there before." (http://www.xyplorer.com/whatsnew.php)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

kunkel321
Posts: 590
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: Custom Columns

Post by kunkel321 » 22 Mar 2014 21:15

admin wrote:OK, just want to back up my bold claim: "No file manager has ever gone there before." (http://www.xyplorer.com/whatsnew.php)
I think your assertion is accurate! :biggrin:
Just FYI on your "What's new" page: I personally think you should tout the "Context Smart" capabilities and also the idea of an "easy share user-script library." But that's just MHO. :whistle:
EDIT:
"What's new in 13.90?
To be released 31-Mar-2014"

You should release it on April 1st just to mess with people.... LOL :wink:
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 49770
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Custom Columns

Post by admin » 22 Mar 2014 21:28

kunkel321 wrote:Just FYI on your "What's new" page: I personally think you should tout the "Context Smart" capabilities and also the idea of an "easy share user-script library." But that's just MHO. :whistle:
Good idea,done! And hey, I just took your "Context Smart Columns" -- nice catchy term! Thanks! :appl:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

SkyFrontier
Posts: 2341
Joined: 04 Jan 2010 14:27
Location: Pasárgada (eu vou!)

Re: Custom Columns

Post by SkyFrontier » 22 Mar 2014 21:35

"Context-Smart Columns" would be proper, I guess.
New User's Ref. Guide and Quick Setup Guide can help a bit! Check XYplorer Resources Index for many useful links!
Want a new XYperience? XY MOD - surfYnXoard
-coz' the aim of computing is to free us to LIVE...

SkyFrontier
Posts: 2341
Joined: 04 Jan 2010 14:27
Location: Pasárgada (eu vou!)

Re: Custom Columns

Post by SkyFrontier » 22 Mar 2014 22:52

I was ready to post into the How are you using Custom Columns?, when I decided to update to the latest beta just to discover that...

1. left alignment doesn't work anymore (so my recipes, sorted by calories, won't easily display the correct order);

2. pilcrow has gone away again...
=(
New User's Ref. Guide and Quick Setup Guide can help a bit! Check XYplorer Resources Index for many useful links!
Want a new XYperience? XY MOD - surfYnXoard
-coz' the aim of computing is to free us to LIVE...

Post Reply