Session Manager [v6.60]

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
oblivion
Posts: 120
Joined: 13 Apr 2011 11:35

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by oblivion » 17 Oct 2019 16:06

I'm still a fairly heavy user of this brilliant script...

Something I'd find helpful but I'm not sure if it's something that relates to something in normal tabset functionality that I could have configured better, or something Session Manager could support (or even does support but I can't work out how to switch it on...)

I'm rambling.

So I have a number of thumbdrives that I cart various portable applications around on, one of which is (of course) XYplorer.

XY itself is portable friendly, so the fact that different machines have different setups and therefore allocate the drive a variety of letters isn't a problem.

But it IS a problem for my sessions.

I'd like to be able to have various of the tabs I like to have open, open to a folder relative to <xydrive> rather than a drive letter that might not exist next time XY's loaded on that system.

(And I have different session manager layouts defined that are relevant to different PCs and different workflows, which is why I find it so useful!)

So. I get that a tab can be pointed at <xydrive>\documents (or some such) and it'll resolve to (eg) k:\documents but I'd like to be able to save a tabset / session layout in such a way that if a tab is on the <xydrive> what gets written to the save file is <xydrive>\path rather than k:\path.

Is something like that already possible? Have I missed something obvious somewhere?
-- bests, Tim

...This space unintentionally left blank.

FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 766
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by FluxTorpedoe » 18 Oct 2019 15:41

Hi’

Portability is indeed one of XYplorer’s strengths!
First, note that all the portable settings are related to XYplorer itself (nothing to change in Session Manager).
I believe there are at least two ways to achieve what you want (maybe more, other tips are welcome!):

 ☛ One is tabset-based, even more so session-based (since each session usually has a specific purpose with specific base tabsets): relocate each tabset of a session using a relative path.
   — Open a session > Right-click on each "portable" tab (the ones pointing to XYplorer’s thumbdrive) > Relocate Tab… > Replace the drive letter with "?" (eg. F:\Documents to ?:\Documents) > Update the session. Note: it only needs to be done once, all new tabs (opening from existing tabs by default) while keep their "relativity".

 ☛ One is broader: change a tweak in the config file
   — Menu Tools > Open Configuration File… > Edit the following tweak
; Tweak: store paths relative to app path: 1 = on removable drives, 2 = on any drive, 4 = relative to app drive
PortableTabs=0

   I must say that depending on your needs, relocating tabs might be enough: personally, my sessions are set this way (with the tweak left to 0), and the portability is working just fine.
   Alhtough that might not be the most efficient —I had it this way before the tweak was implemented, I shall try the tweak some day…

⚠ Important note for portable use:
   — Be sure to also set the Tags (i.e. tags and labels and comments) to portable:
   Menu Tools > Configuration > Tags > Storage: …
   I use "Relative to application" (for the same reason as mentioned above, because that was the first implemented I guess, I’d never checked again since, but I now see there are other portable options).

Happy portability!

oblivion
Posts: 120
Joined: 13 Apr 2011 11:35

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by oblivion » 18 Oct 2019 17:39

Thanks, that's really helpful -- and I think the tweak-free option will do all I need!
-- bests, Tim

...This space unintentionally left blank.

hogaty
Posts: 185
Joined: 19 Apr 2013 21:14

Czech translation for Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by hogaty » 11 Apr 2020 16:05

Czech translation for Session Manager [v6.50] is in Attachment.
Attachments
SessionManager.cz(v6_50).zip
(11.72 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

mikes16
Posts: 54
Joined: 02 Mar 2007 16:18

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by mikes16 » 01 May 2020 10:24

This is not a huge deal but maybe some can help. I am seeing the following for a saved layout:

[Single �� Autosave ��]

I am actually seeing this in some other apps UI's as well now and then. Are the � characters part of the design?

Can someone point me in the right direction to solve this?

highend
Posts: 9260
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by highend » 01 May 2020 10:56

And you're really using the UTF-16 version from viewtopic.php?p=172225#p172225
?

If yes, do your used fonts support all unicode characters?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

mikes16
Posts: 54
Joined: 02 Mar 2007 16:18

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by mikes16 » 01 May 2020 13:44

highend wrote:
01 May 2020 10:56
And you're really using the UTF-16 version from viewtopic.php?p=172225#p172225
?

If yes, do your used fonts support all unicode characters?
Thanks - that worked. I didn't realize I needed this as I use English Windows.

Thank you!

autocart
Posts: 837
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by autocart » 06 May 2020 16:46

@FluxTorpedoe

Obiously this is a useful script, also in the current version. Thank you for that! :tup:

Still I would like to ask you, FluxTorpedoe, if you are aware that it is not bug free and if you want to squeeze any present bugs out of the tool or if reporting (and describing) them would be in vain? Or if you are aleady working on a new version addressing some current bugs?

Regards, me

FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 766
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by FluxTorpedoe » 06 May 2020 18:09

   Hi everyone!
   And sorry for the belated response… :whistle:

@hogaty
   Thanks a lot for your translation ! :appl:
   Sorry for the delay, but it’s fixed now: I updated the main post accordingly.

@mikes16
   Welcome on board! Glad it now works as intended.
   So, thank you highend for being there and active in general and for Session Manager in particular! :biggrin:

@autocart and @all
   Even if I haven’t been active on the forum for a while, I still use Session Manager (and XYplorer) all the time. So I do intend to keep it alive and up to date!
   I knew of an icon bug and fixed right away… but shamefully didn’t take the time to post the update.
version 6.51 - 2019-10-08 ! Changing icon of current session would not refresh toolbar button

   But apart from that, I was not aware of any other issue, so any bug report is more than welcome!
   Please don’t hesitate. :wink:

Have a nice – and healthy – day, :masked: 8)

    Flux

autocart
Posts: 837
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by autocart » 08 May 2020 23:56

Ok, since I should not hesitate... :wink:

I am not sure how to recreate it, but I remember two bugs with the latest version:
1) The toolbar icon changed one time during usage. Seemingly on its own. From the bag icon to the custom open with icon.
2) In the drop-down menu the dots (separator) was repeated 4 times right after one another. And so was the part below the separator (the actual session names) - also 4 times. I think, as far as I remember, that the dots indicating a saved layout were not shown in all 4 repetitions, but I could be wrong about this.

If you have no clue about what could have caused these bugs, then I suggest I will write about them again, if they surface again. Otherwise, the script seems to work ok. Those bugs seem to be more cosmetic only. So, no *real* problem.

Regards, me.

FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 766
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by FluxTorpedoe » 09 May 2020 18:25

1) There was definitely a bug with the icon management (in fact, a line updated too quickly with 6.50 update…). What you describe might be fixed by 6.51.
2) I’ve no idea what could cause such an issue… The only thing I can think of that may disrupt the display of the menu is when the script is run several times very fast without having the time to exit properly, i.e. double-clicking the button. So if you have a way to reproduce the bug —or any other bug—, thanks for posting it.

And in any case, any :bug: reporting is welcome! :maf:

autocart
Posts: 837
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by autocart » 12 May 2020 13:57

FluxTorpedoe wrote:
09 May 2020 18:25
1) There was definitely a bug with the icon management (in fact, a line updated too quickly with 6.50 update…). What you describe might be fixed by 6.51.
2) I’ve no idea what could cause such an issue… The only thing I can think of that may disrupt the display of the menu is when the script is run several times very fast without having the time to exit properly, i.e. double-clicking the button. So if you have a way to reproduce the bug —or any other bug—, thanks for posting it.

And in any case, any :bug: reporting is welcome! :maf:
1) Thanks for checking.
2) It sometimes happens after saving as session as... a new name. But again, it is merely cosmetic. After I close the menu and reopen it again, it looks normal again.

3) If I am allowed to wish for a new feature: Would it be hard to implement an option to always autosave the current session? I.e. an option that the command "set autosave to current session" is automatically executed on each session change.
4) Also nice (maybe instead of 3, if this was easier to implement) would be an indicator, if the current session is in a saved or unsaved state.

Regards. me.

autocart
Posts: 837
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by autocart » 13 May 2020 14:10

Trying to invoke the button menu with the scripting command
button "ctb4", 1;
(in case it is the fourth user button), does not work. It seems that it is automatically executing the first entry in the menu (Reset Session) without popping the menu. Could be an XY bug?

klownboy
Posts: 3002
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by klownboy » 13 May 2020 15:43

That's probably because your normal left click entry for CTB4 is something like global $DYN_InpSess = "Normal"; load "SessionManager.xys", "_Load"; which tells SM to load the normal session. Yours is probably something similar other than "Normal". If your left click entry is just the standard load statement alone like load "SessionManager.xys"; it should bring up the Session Manager menu. The one liner button "ctb4", 1 does work for me. You can also use userbutton "4", 1 .

autocart
Posts: 837
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: Session Manager [v6.50]

Post by autocart » 13 May 2020 15:56

Left click of ctb4 is load "SessionManager.xys";
Do you run the latest XY version and the latest Session Manager version?

Post Reply