LayoutManager [release 1.1]

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: LayoutManager

Post by klownboy »

Hey Filehero,

I hope you had a nice weekend.

You might want to check out this XY forum discussion. The tail end of it touches apon a similar issue concerning the greying out of icons.
OBS: when i put all of them in a single script the menu has to be scrolled and, for some reason, the icons use negative colors (or smth like that).

these only worked on CTBs:
see: http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic.php?p=39363

By the way just for info, my laptop and 2 desktops are all running Windows 7 Home Premium x64. So I suppose it's not a x32 vs x64 issue.

Take care,
Ken
Windows 11, 23H2 Build 22631.3447 at 100% 2560x1440

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: LayoutManager

Post by Filehero »

Hi,

it needed quite some time, but here it is: LayoutManager V1.0.

I hope all major glitches are gone now. :mrgreen:

Very special thanks to klownboy for his continuous and helpful support, very appreciated! :appl: :D


Cheers,
Filehero
Attachments
LayoutManager-1.0.zip
(362.18 KiB) Downloaded 313 times

klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.0]

Post by klownboy »

Thanks Filehero, being retired now, it's always nice to hear you're doing some good...very glad to help. :)
Take care, klownboy
Windows 11, 23H2 Build 22631.3447 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60558
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: LayoutManager

Post by admin »

Filehero wrote:LayoutManager V1.0
Mindblowing! Scripting is more powerful than I thought. :wink:

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: LayoutManager

Post by Filehero »

Hi Don,

thanks for the kind words. I do share your conclusion on SC. :wink:


Cheers,
Filehero

klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.0]

Post by klownboy »

Hi Filehero,
How's it going? Back in your original Layout Manager post, you mentioned the get("#functionID"); and listed the commands that were currently supported and also provided Don with a wish list of a few additional ones. One that you didn't mentioned though was #1061 which shows and hides the menu bar. The menu bar can also be turned off and on by using the alt+up keys. It sure would be nice if we could get("#functionID") support for #1061. It would make your "Minimalistic" Layout in Layout Manager even more minimalistic. :)

I've set up some quick and dirty scripts in the toolbar sub-menus which will turn everything off including the menu bar for viewing specific folders with thumbnails of pictures and PDF's such that they take advantage of the entire XY window, but it would be much improved it we could detect the currrent status of the menu bar as you can with the tool bar and status bar, etc. Until that happens, do you, Don or anyone know of any way to detect whether the menu bar is showing or not using XY scripting - short of resorting to an external scripting like AHK?

Thanks so much,
Ken
Windows 11, 23H2 Build 22631.3447 at 100% 2560x1440

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.0]

Post by Filehero »

Hi Ken,

I'm doing fine, preparing for winter. :mrgreen: How are you?

Not mentioning #1061 was on purpose. I never hide menu bars, since I assign them to the core/heart/shell of the program. But I surely could add it once there's support for retrieving the status. Hopefully Don will expand the functions support for the get command some day.

You have started scripting? Nice!

What is AHK?

Cheers,
Filehero

klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.0]

Post by klownboy »

Hi Filehero,

All is well here. Glad to hear you're doing fine. Yes, we're starting to get some chilly nights.

I like the idea of hiding everything under certain conditions such as viewing the thumbnails which allows them to take up the entire real estate of the window as long as I can return to the full blown condition with the toolbar, menubar, status bar, and tab bar with the stroke of a key. It would be nice to get the get("#functionID") support for this command. As a matter of fact it would be nice to have one command that disabled all the bars and have get("#functionID") for it.

Now I have to resort to doing something like this:

Code: Select all

::goto """G:\PDFs and Books\Misc\tools\""";
   $NAV_PNL = get(#663);
     IF ($NAV_PNL == 1) {
      #663;
      }
   $TOOL_BAR = get(#661);
      IF ($TOOL_BAR == 1) {
       #661;
       }
   $TAB_BAR = get(#662);
     IF ($TAB_BAR == 1) {
      #662;
      }
   $STATUS_BAR = get(#670);
     IF ($STATUS_BAR == 1) {
      #670;
      }
  #1061;
and something like this to get me back with all the bars:

Code: Select all

  #552;#1040;goto "C:\";
   $NAV_PNL = get(#663);
     IF ($NAV_PNL == 0) {
      #663;
      #1061;
      #1009
      }
//      else {
//      status "Navigation Panel already showing.";
//      }
   $TOOL_BAR = get(#661);
     IF ($TOOL_BAR == 0) {
      #661;
      }
   $TAB_BAR = get(#662);
     IF ($TAB_BAR == 0) {
       #662;
       }
   $STATUS_BAR = get(#670);
     IF ($STATUS_BAR == 0) {
         #670;
         }
I assign a user defined command to each of them. It can get messed up though if you are not going directly back and forth with the commands (i.e., you adjust or change the menu bar condition since we can't detect it current condition).
AHK or AutoHotkey http://www.autohotkey.com/is a great scripting language which you can do almost anything to control whats happening on your PC. It's forum http://www.autohotkey.com/community/and updates are extremely active. Every few minutes there are posts being made. I'm still a noob, but I'm learning or trying anyway.
Take care,
Ken
Windows 11, 23H2 Build 22631.3447 at 100% 2560x1440

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.0]

Post by Filehero »

Hi,

new release:
LayoutManager-1.1.zip
(387.4 KiB) Downloaded 354 times
It now supports also

Code: Select all

Command IDs:
#686  = Window | Catalog Above Tree
#1061 = Miscellaneous | General Functions | Show/Hide Main Menu
Running the script requires XY version 11.60.0104 onwards (a corresponding version check has been added).

I hope I didn't introduce any new flaws...


Cheers,
Filehero

klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.1]

Post by klownboy »

Hey Filehero, version 1.1 is looking good. I haven't encountered any flaws. :D :appl: Thanks for incorporating #1061 to show/hide the main menu.
Take care,
Ken
Windows 11, 23H2 Build 22631.3447 at 100% 2560x1440

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.1]

Post by Filehero »

Hi Ken,
klownboy wrote:Hey Filehero, version 1.1 is looking good. I haven't encountered any flaws. :D :appl:
Nice, thanks for your instant testing and feedback.
klownboy wrote:Thanks for incorporating #1061 to show/hide the main menu.
Yep, now "Minimalistic" really deserves its name. :wink:


Cheers,
Filehero

FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 855
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.1]

Post by FluxTorpedoe »

Terrific! & working perfectly here...
Thank you for this useful addon. :)

Have a nice day, 8)
Flux

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: LayoutManager [release 1.1]

Post by Filehero »

Hi Flux,

thanks for the kind words.


Cheers,
Filehero

Post Reply