App launcher

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: App launcher

Post by highend »

v19.10.0101 brings the ability to use ctrl + shift + {ENTER} to invoke an entry with admin permissions
(previously a mouse click was the only way to invoke this).

App launcher doesn't need an update to use this new feature...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: App launcher

Post by highend »

Code: Select all

v0.8
  + Fron now on you can suppress the usage of arguments by holding the "alt"
    key modifier (for items that you do not want to execute with admin
    permissions) or "ctrl+shift+alt" keys (for items that need admin
    permissions).
    For example you have an entry in the "App launcher_CLI.txt" file like:
    C:\Windows\notepad.exe="""<some file name + path with spaces in it>""",
    every time you execute the "notepad" entry, it would open this file as
    well. But if you just need "notepad" alone you can just use "alt" / "ctrl+
    shift+alt" to get the desired behavior
  + "Included_Files=" in a section now supports the definition of a custom icon
    for an entry. The separator between the file name and the icon is bound to
    "<:>"! Internal XY icons are supported as well. An example:
    [God_Mode]
    Paths=C:\Windows
    Included_Files=explorer.exe<:><xyicons>\Computer.ico
Regarding the custom icon:
For example the App launcher.ini file contains this:

Code: Select all

[God_Mode]
Paths=C:\Windows
Included_Files=explorer.exe
And the definition for the arguments from App launcher_CLI.txt:

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\explorer.exe="""D:\Users\%USERNAME%\GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}"""
What you would see is this:
no_custom_icon.png
no_custom_icon.png (4.77 KiB) Viewed 2664 times
But if the "Included_Files=" is changed to this:

Code: Select all

Included_Files=explorer.exe<:><xyicons>\Computer.ico
You would get this instead:
custom_icon.png
custom_icon.png (4.89 KiB) Viewed 2664 times
Ofc this icon must exist^^
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

Litin
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jul 2018 20:52

Re: App launcher

Post by Litin »

What a great script!

I would suggest a debugging mode or a second launch mode, where you can select and copy the whole path, so it's easier to add to excluded files or paths.

and for later

A two or three column layout

An interactive mode where
  • you can click
  • and a pop up shows the whole path and ask if you want to exclude the path or file, or edit the exclusion

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: App launcher

Post by highend »

I would suggest a debugging mode or a second launch mode, where you can select and copy the whole path, so it's easier to add to excluded files or paths
I've added an "edit mode" to v0.9...

Code: Select all

v0.9
  + Added a new option "Edit_Mode_Key_Combo=". The default is "1" = Shift key.
    Possible values are: 1 = Shift, 2 = Ctrl, 3 = Ctrl + Shift, 4 = Alt,
    5 = Shift + Alt, 6 = Ctrl + Alt, 7 = Ctrl + Shift + Alt
    When this key / key combination is held when the script is invoked, it goes
    into an "edit mode". It checks all "Paths=" values from all sections to
    decide if one of them is in (or a subfolder of) the current path. In that
    case it copies the current selected file or folder (for folders: the last
    part with a prefixed backslash) into the clipboard opens an input window
    where you can paste it into the relevant key=value part. The "OK" button
    saves the new content for that section. If no value from "Paths=" matches
    it will show all entries for a new section in an edit window with the
    current path already inserted for "Paths="
Two screenshots, the first one for a completely new section, the second one
for an already existing one:
new_section.png
new_section.png (6.06 KiB) Viewed 2605 times
existing_section.png
existing_section.png (5.03 KiB) Viewed 2605 times
A two or three column layout
Makes no sense, the inputselect() command doesn't support that and doing
this manually with code would lead to the leftmost column having an icon while all
other column entries would have none
An interactive mode where
Too much effort for this little tool, sorry

Last release for the next 10 days...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

Litin
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jul 2018 20:52

Re: App launcher

Post by Litin »

highend wrote:
I've added an "edit mode" to v0.9...
Much thanks for all your work highend, really appreciate it! :appl:

LittleBiG
Posts: 1846
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: App launcher

Post by LittleBiG »

I am just wondering if you still maintain your great script. Because It works in a really strange way since some folders have changed on my computer. It would be good to check the existence of the Paths. In case of obsolete folders, the script does something strange, showing the sections which shouldn't be shown, filling out with some data related to the current path. Or something like that. It varies on the path I am on when I start the script.

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: App launcher

Post by highend »

Sorry, I'm not going to guess what's not working...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

LittleBiG
Posts: 1846
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: App launcher

Post by LittleBiG »

highend wrote: 02 Oct 2022 18:06 Sorry, I'm not going to guess what's not working...
It doesn't work correctly if the given Paths= doesn't exist. Maybe it uses the actual path instead, I am not sure. But if you also aren't, just disregard.

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: App launcher

Post by highend »

v1.0 is online

Code: Select all

v1.0
  ! Add a check if no paths (at all) for a section exist and in that case:
    Ignore the section
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

LittleBiG
Posts: 1846
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: App launcher

Post by LittleBiG »

highend wrote: 04 Oct 2022 11:59 v1.0 is online

Code: Select all

v1.0
  ! Add a check if no paths (at all) for a section exist and in that case:
    Ignore the section
Great, thank you. :tup:

Post Reply