rename using a text editor

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by highend »

1. As I already said, I don't know, I'm not aware of any enforced hard limits. But hey, this is ancient Win XP time stuff...

2. Depending on what editor you start from the script you can use different size limits to warn on
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

suslo
Posts: 178
Joined: 02 Feb 2015 05:02

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by suslo »

please upload the ColumnEdit_v1.1.zip with the .ahk file

i would like to check what happens if i change the %TEMP% to some other simple folder
chances are tiny but maybe this will remove that strange limit which is present in my OS but is absent in yours

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by highend »

Sorry, I don't post the source code to any of my external helper tools anymore.

The two relevant lines are:

Code: Select all

		FileRead, content, % "*P65001 "columnEditFile ; UTF-8
		ControlSetText, , % content, % "ahk_id" columnEditControlHWND
while the columnEditFile points to:

Code: Select all

columnEditFile := A_Temp "\~ColumnEdit.txt"
FileRead doesn't obey the #MaxMem limit, it can read files up to ~1GB into memory.
In other words: It absolutely doesn't matter where the file is stored, as long as the tool
can access it.
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by highend »

Try v1.2, it sends a EM_EXLIMITTEXT message to the edit control before it tries to populate it
The limit is raised to 64MB (it seems old systems try to use only 32k...). If this doesn't work -> Bad luck
xyColumnEdit_v1.2.zip
(398.53 KiB) Downloaded 195 times
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

suslo
Posts: 178
Joined: 02 Feb 2015 05:02

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by suslo »

v1.2 certainly performs better:

1 324 850 characters (1,26 mb) - works
1 325 545 characters (1,26 mb) - doesn't work

the previous limit was 1,13 mb
The limit is raised to 64MB
128MB?

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by highend »

128MB
For what? The limit was raised by a factor of 200. And the gain was just 0.13 MB of an increased file size
Doesn't make sense to up it further
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

suslo
Posts: 178
Joined: 02 Feb 2015 05:02

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by suslo »

is it possible to up it further? i'm asking because i don't know at all
now it's 64MB. what is the higher possible value?

if it's possible and if it's not difficult, i ask you to raise the limit so that we can see the result
for the sake of curiosity and practical sense
for me the difference between 1,13 mb and 1,26 mb is already quite notable (1 324 850 characters versus 1 185 759)
and i think it is worth to try more

and also the size of the ColumnEdit v1.2 is the same comparing to the previuos version (not bigger at all)

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by highend »

xyColumnEdit_v1.2_512MB.zip
(398.55 KiB) Downloaded 198 times
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

suslo
Posts: 178
Joined: 02 Feb 2015 05:02

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by suslo »

thank you for the moment of hope. unfortunately the result is basically the same:

1 325 024 characters (1,26 mb) - works
1 325 059 characters (1,26 mb) - doesn't work

we may of course get some more information about this limit
it would require somebody who is curious about this problem (with the win2003 sp2 32-bit installed in virtual machine)
this way we can find out whether this problem is general for win2003 or some settings in my win2003 are causing this behaviour
but i understand that most likely it's not going to happen

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by highend »

Do it yourself? Make an image of your current installation (e.g. with https://clonezilla.org/),
set it up from scratch, test it, find out what you need to know, restore your original installation...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

suslo
Posts: 178
Joined: 02 Feb 2015 05:02

Re: rename using a text editor

Post by suslo »

that strange limit
is absent in xy-19.00

17 150 000 characters (16,3 mb) (270 000 lines) - works

Post Reply