Raw data in a report

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
idheitmann

Raw data in a report

Post by idheitmann »

Hi folks,

I am a complete newb with XY scripting. I need to generate a tab separated text file of a huge number of G-office files distributed throughout a file system. As you probably know these files are actually just text files with different extensions.

I am trying to work with two functions - report() and readfile().

What I want is to get each line to have the full path, file name, date modified, and the contents of the file.

What I have done is create a query that gives me a listing of all the files. Then I manually ran the script report(readfile()), which successfully gave me all the contents -- but I don't know which one is which!

As soon as I start adding in the variables for the different fields, it breaks. As soon as I start putting in quotation marks I think it breaks the readfile() function... I think?

Let me know how I can make this work and I will be very appreciative!

Thanks.

highend

Re: Raw data in a report

Post by highend »

The fastest way to do this is using quicksearch() to find the necessary
files and provide all the required data (if you have a rather recent version of XYplorer!)

and then use readfile in a foreach loop for all files found to append the content to each line

E.g.:

Code: Select all

$paths = "D:\";          // Can be a ;-separated list of drives/paths
    $extensions = "txt;bat"; // A ;-separated list of extensions for g-office

$data = quicksearch("/types=$extensions", $paths, , "sm") . <crlf>;
    // Get only the full path + modified date
    $data = regexreplace($data, "([^|]+)\|([^|]+)\|([^|]+)\|(.*?(?=\r?\n))", "$1|$3");
    // Split the full path into path + file
    $data = regexreplace($data, "(.*)\\([^|]+)\|(.*?(?=\r?\n))", "$1<tab>$2<tab>$3<tab>");

$report = "";
    foreach($item, $data, <crlf>, "e") {
        $file = regexreplace($item, "(.*?)<tab>(.*?)<tab>(.*)", "$1\$2");