User Button doesn't go to path

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
Post Reply
bjprice
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Apr 2013 19:32

User Button doesn't go to path

Post by bjprice »

All I want to do is click a user button and have xyplorer take me the directory specified.

I've entered a name and icon in the appropriate boxes
In the Left click button I've entered a path:
c:\users\my name\documents\my docs
on left click I get a overflow 0/0

If I put the line in quotes - to account for spaces in the path
"c:\users\my name\documents\my docs"
a left click just returns the name of the button (My docs) but does nothing else.

The help files appear to say that just putting the path in the left click should be sufficient but clearly I'm doing something wrong.

Help appreciated. Thanks

highend
Posts: 13317
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: User Button doesn't go to path

Post by highend »

You could put the path into the "Name" field and leave the click fields empty or use a

Code: Select all

goto "c:\users\my name\documents\my docs";
in one of the click fields
The help files appear to say that just putting the path in the left click should be sufficient
Post the lines from the help file where you see this
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

bjprice
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Apr 2013 19:32

Re: User Button doesn't go to path

Post by bjprice »

I tried putting the path in the name field and deleting it from the left-click field. Clicking on the button just reveals the name of the button (which now is the full path.)

Here's the chunk of the help file I referred to:

Smart Dropdown Buttons

It must not be scripts. User Buttons also support passing plain path/file specs as a shorthand for a well-formed goto-scripts, respectively open-scripts. The type of the listed items determines the action: The button will drop a menu that opens documents, runs executables, and goes to folders. Note that at least two items are needed to form a valid Smart Dropdown Button.

Examples:
C:\ = go to C:\
C:\Windows = go to C:\Windows
%winsysdir%\Calc.exe = run %winsysdir%\Calc.exe
%winsysdir%\setup.bmp = open %winsysdir%\setup.bmp with the default application

highend
Posts: 13317
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: User Button doesn't go to path

Post by highend »

Show a screenshot of the button definition...
Note that at least two items are needed to form a valid Smart Dropdown Button
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

bjprice
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Apr 2013 19:32

Re: User Button doesn't go to path

Post by bjprice »

HIghend
The line you suggested:
goto "c:\users\my name\documents\my docs";
works fine, even without the closing semicolon ;

Before posting I had tried goto path but not goto "path"

Thank you for your help; much appreciated.

Post Reply