Page 5 of 8

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 19 Sep 2015 15:18
by 40k
highend wrote:Next beta will work (even) better :) And it won't be long 'til a final release from then...
Odd situation here. I tried running YUAM today and the GUI won't pop up. Task manager does show Yuam.exe with a process ID but that's it. I'm on windows 8.1

It worked previously so now I'm wondering if something changed that causes this behavior.

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 19 Sep 2015 15:50
by highend
Did you press it's hotkey (by default ctrl+shift+alt+y) to let the gui come up?

Post a screenshot of it...

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 20 Sep 2015 19:25
by 40k
highend wrote:Did you press it's hotkey (by default ctrl+shift+alt+y) to let the gui come up?

Post a screenshot of it...
Okey using that shortcut makes the GUI popup! But I imagine it might be more desirable to have it pop up immediately when starting the program.

Also a maybe it would be useful to display a message (in color) when the user presses "Check now" so it tells you you have the latest version. Now it sort of seems as if nothing happens when you are on the latest build already...

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 20 Sep 2015 19:27
by highend
That will be the case when I have time to release the next beta

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 12 May 2016 09:02
by MBaas
The screenshot in the initial post shows version 0.8, yet the download is for 0.73 - will 0.8 be "the next beta" or is it hidden somewhere else? ;-)

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 12 May 2016 09:27
by highend
It's a sneak preview xD No, kidding, it's my internal version. Whenever I find the time to implement the logic we've talked about (a few postings above yours) I'll release something new. Apart from that it works fine (at least here).

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 22 Jun 2016 17:19
by g00p3k
I'm getting an error message on the latest version indicating:
Image

with the following status on the dialogue.
Image

Not sure why this would occur. Any tips? I redownloaded and setup YAUM yet still get this error message.

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 22 Jun 2016 17:42
by highend
- Which operating system?
- You've used an older version before and directly after updating to the new one and executing it, it happened?
- Does it go away when you restart you computer?

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 23 Jun 2016 11:19
by Turion
I'm getting the same error too.

Win 10 x64
Used v0.73 for the past 3 or 4 weeks.
Restart does not help.

I'm not sure but the error seemed to happen to me right after the developer did this:
v16.90.0306 - 2016-06-18 16:20
The XYplorer homepage is now SSL/TLS secured, i.e. all links should now
point to https://www.xyplorer.com/.

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 23 Jun 2016 11:36
by highend
Ok, tell me if this version fixes the problem:
YAUM_v0.80 BETA.zip
(400.97 KiB) Downloaded 80 times

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 23 Jun 2016 20:36
by Turion
Yes it does! :appl:

Very nice update too!

I'm curious...did the http to https cause the error?

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 23 Jun 2016 20:57
by highend
Yeah, I changed the method to build the connection. Actually I did that months ago but I was using v0.8 only internally :)

Btw, I made the new version available in the first post...

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 24 Jun 2016 00:14
by Filehero
Is there a visual hint that YAUM is running/lurking in the background (tray icon etc)?

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 24 Jun 2016 06:00
by highend
No, there isn't. I'll eventually add an option for that when I'm back from holiday (~ 2 weeks)

Re: YAUM - Yet Another Update Manager

Posted: 25 Jun 2016 17:16
by Filehero
highend wrote:I'll eventually add an option for that when I'm back from holiday (~ 2 weeks)
Fine.

btw, for being on holidays you're quite busy with giving user support here. I thought this (and YAUM) was worth a little donation.