"browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer ?

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
Post Reply
xen
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2013 03:57

"browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer ?

Post by xen »

hi, how to "browse file with windows explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer ?
when right click a folder in xyplorer,there is a menu "explore" ,click on it , and that folder will be opened in a new windows explorer
but this menu is only available to folder,i want it to be available to any file
in other way , i want a user command menu ,such as "Explore File" ,when a file selected in xyplorer and the user use this command , a new window explorer will be opened (windows explorer will open the folder contain that file) and the mouse will point to that file

Any helps will be much appreciated
Thanks so much
Last edited by xen on 26 Jan 2014 11:42, edited 1 time in total.

jbhq
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 00:06

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by jbhq »

Nne way round this might be to add an Explorer shortcut to the "send to" folder and send folder/item there.

xen
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2013 03:57

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by xen »

jbhq wrote:Nne way round this might be to add an Explorer shortcut to the "send to" folder and send folder/item there.
thanks ,but how to do it ,please tell me more detail :D

binocular222
Posts: 1416
Joined: 04 Nov 2008 05:35
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by binocular222 »

I think he mean go to target of .lnk files.
Then, here's the script:

Code: Select all

goto property("#linktarget", "<curitem>");
User > Manage Command > Run Script > New >
- Type anything in caption
- Paste above code in "Script" field
- Assign your keyboard shortcut

Or you can right click Toolbar > add a user button then paste above code into
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

highend
Posts: 13308
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by highend »

No, what he's looking for is this:

Code: Select all

run """explorer"" /select,""<curitem>""";
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

xen
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2013 03:57

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by xen »

binocular222 wrote:I think he mean go to target of .lnk files.
Then, here's the script:

Code: Select all

goto property("#linktarget", "<curitem>");
User > Manage Command > Run Script > New >
- Type anything in caption
- Paste above code in "Script" field
- Assign your keyboard shortcut

Or you can right click Toolbar > add a user button then paste above code into
highend wrote:No, what he's looking for is this:

Code: Select all

run """explorer"" /select,""<curitem>""";
Hi, thank you for the helps, binocular222 and highend
sorry for non clear question before, now i write it more clearly ,highend had understood before i edited the post
and his command is exactly what i need, thank you ^^

highend
Posts: 13308
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by highend »

You could enhance it a bit (at least that's what I'm doing) with e.g.:

Code: Select all

    $explorer = "%windir%\explorer.exe";
    if (exists("<curitem>") == 1) { // Selected file
        run """$explorer"" /select,""<curitem>""";
    } elseif (exists("<curitem>") == 2) { // Selected folder
        run """$explorer"" ""<curitem>""";
    } else { // No selection
        run """$explorer"" ""<curpath>""";
    }
If nothing is selected: Explorer is opened with the current path
If a single folder is selected: Opened with this folder as current path
A single file: Current folder with that file selected

My personal script uses get("trigger") to see if it's started with
a left or right click on the button and acts accordingly (left click =
start with admin rights | right click = not elevated)...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

TheQwerty
Posts: 4373
Joined: 03 Aug 2007 22:30

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer

Post by TheQwerty »

Another useful WE argument tip is /root:

Code: Select all

run """$explorer"" /root:,""$folder""";
Which gives you an instance of WE that is similar to using a locked home zone tab in XY, in that it allows you to browse descendants of $folder but will throw an error/open a new instance of WE if you try to go anywhere else.

Nasri
Posts: 10
Joined: 23 Mar 2017 04:56

Re: "browse file with explorer" by using hotkey in xyplorer ?

Post by Nasri »

In case anyone else is attempting this, I have tried both suggestion and the one that works for me is

Code: Select all

run """explorer"" /select,""<curitem>""";
I am unsure why

Code: Select all

goto property("#linktarget", "<curitem>");
behave differently and so it did not work for me.

Post Reply