[solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Discuss and share scripts and script files...
Post Reply
lian00
Posts: 354
Joined: 09 Jul 2014 17:12

[solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by lian00 »

Hello, I used this script

Code: Select all

thumbsconf((thumbsconf() == '0,1,0,0') ? '1,0,4,2' : '0,1,0,0');
to toggle between my regular thumbnail view and Wall of Thumbnails but it does not work as intended since some beta versions. Second click won’t toggle back to original state. If someone can help me on this. Thanks.
Last edited by lian00 on 21 Jan 2022 12:49, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 64 bits

highend
Posts: 13260
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by highend »

Then read the changelog entry for v22.60.0214?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

lian00
Posts: 354
Joined: 09 Jul 2014 17:12

Re: Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by lian00 »

highend wrote: 21 Jan 2022 12:03 Then read the changelog entry for v22.60.0214?
Thanks. I will take a look and hope I’ll understand it :oops:
Windows 10 64 bits

lian00
Posts: 354
Joined: 09 Jul 2014 17:12

Re: Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by lian00 »

OK, thanks to @highend, I solved it adding a transparency variable. So

Code: Select all

thumbsconf((thumbsconf() == '0,1,0,5,0') ? '1,0,4,2,0' : '0,1,0,5,0');
Windows 10 64 bits

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by klownboy »

Leaving out that 5th flag seems to break old scripts using SC thumbsconf which seems unusual in that Don doesn't typically change a scripting command/function in a way that breaks old code. The Help file states Leave out any values that should not be touched, but apparently if the last comma before the new transparency value is missing the code doesn't work. It's easy code to fix though.

Also Don, the Help file was updated to reflect "transparency" but it's missing in the main syntax.
thumbsconf([settings="ShowCaption,ZoomToFill,Style,Padding"], [separator=","])
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by admin »

Indeed, it was not my intention to break code. You can indeed omit the new argument but it's the longer return that breaks this part: ... thumbsconf() == '0,1,0,5,0' ...

tnx

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by klownboy »

Hey Don, did you do anything with this item on beta v22.70.0102? It wasn't mentioned, but sometimes you make a fix and don't necessary mention it. If you did, it still isn't working. If you didn't, then sorry to bring it up.

Also and more importantly, when using something simple like thumbsconf((thumbsconf() == '0,1,0,0,0') ? '1,0,0,1,0' : '0,1,0,0,0'); (Note: this has the transparency flag so it should work and it does), I notice that XY is completely redrawing the thumbnails each and every time it changes the view. It's simply going back and forth from normal thumbs to Zoom-to-Fill thumbs and it's rewriting the thumbs each cycle. I confirmed the normal and Zoom-to-Fill thumbnail cache files exist and based on the times are definitely being redrawn each time. This behavior did not happen previously. So, something else is not right.
Edit: I noticed this happening yesterday. So it was prior to today's change.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by admin »

You're absolutely right. Fixed in the next beta.

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by klownboy »

Thanks Don, cycling between normal and zoom-to-fill thumbnails is working again when the transparency flag is used. I noticed though that if you don't use the transparency flag it still doesn't work (i.e., the change in view does not occur). For example, with thumbsconf((thumbsconf() == '0,1,0,0') ? '1,0,0,1' : '0,1,0,0'); as used in older scripts. Not a big deal, I've changed any old scripts to add the transparency flag anyway.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60288
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by admin »

Yep, it was not really fixable that the return value changed its structure. Next time I will think of something smarter.

klownboy
Posts: 4089
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: [solved] Toggle wall of thumbnails does not work anymore

Post by klownboy »

Thanks Don, no problem.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

Post Reply