Highlight recently used folders

Features wanted...
MrAnalogy

Highlight recently used folders

Post by MrAnalogy »

When you're working with paper files/folders you often have physical indications of recently used items (they're near the top of the pile, they're more "worn" looking, dog-eared, etc.)

It would be really cool if XY would highlight recently used folders. Maybe in yellow, with maybe 10 shades. With some some simple algorithm for "use" that "wears off" (expires).

So the more and longer you use it the "brighter" is is, then it gets less bright over time.
Software company owner

MrAnalogy

Re: Highlight recently used folders

Post by MrAnalogy »

Mini Tree sorta does this, but I'm still learning how to use that.

I can't quite see how to add folders to the Mini Tree since it only adds them when it's in MT mode and you can only view (in that mode) folders that are in your favorites, etc.
Software company owner

acheton

Post by acheton »

MrAnalogy wrote:It would be really cool if XY would highlight recently used folders. Maybe in yellow, with maybe 10 shades. With some some simple algorithm for "use" that "wears off" (expires).
This is what the Color filters feature is for, simply go to Tools -> Configuration and select Color Filters. You can then setup filters to colour files and folders based on the age of the folder. I use a filter like:

AgeM:<1d

which means modified within the last day. If you look up color filters in the help you will see much more. I also based my filters on those done by TheQwerty here: http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... lor+filter

Hope this helps.

Ach

eil

Post by eil »

acheton, posted while i was typing :lol: still MrAnalogy
you can try to do that with color-filtering by setting color shades for modified parameter(more recent= more intensive color).
Last edited by eil on 22 Apr 2011 11:58, edited 2 times in total.
Win 7 SP1 x64 100% 1366x768

j_c_hallgren
XY Blog Master

Post by j_c_hallgren »