Other languages

Features wanted...
Dutch

Other languages

Post by Dutch »

Hi,

I am new to XYplorer and my fist impression is very good! But are there or will it be possible to have a Dutch version?

That would make the program eaysy to use for me and even more easy for my family.

Hope to hear,

Regards,

Dutch

ivan

Post by ivan »

Hi,

Welcome here, glad to know you like XYplorer.

You need to click on that Roadmap link above this thread. I personally would like to see Russian version but XY needs to be 100% unicode for that. I'm sure it will happen but not just yet :)
Windows Vista Business SP1 32-bit, Logitech MX400 mouse, SetPoint 4.60.122

admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Dutch version, Russian version, French version... I get this wishes quite often, but people usually don't realize how much work this would be.

Interface (lots of windows), Message Boxes (hundreds), Help File (big), other accompanying files, online documentation...

Then most languages takes more space than english, so the layout will often breakm unless i provide additional space.

As you will know, XY is constantly developed. It's already a burden to keep the English documentation up-to-date.

You see, I would have to hire people for this job. Currently I do not plan to do this.

ivan

Post by ivan »

This is where the community could contribute a lot. The broader the scope of the application, and this is achieved by making it multilingual, the wider the potential market for XYplorer. For most people in the world, English is not their native language so it's a little unfair to deny them the pleasure of XYplorer on those grounds. To draw a parallel line, it's like Angela Merkel saying "Nein" to my visa application to go see the Berlin wall and taste some of the best beer and sausages in the world just because "Ich spreche kein Deutsch". Not right, ja? :?
Windows Vista Business SP1 32-bit, Logitech MX400 mouse, SetPoint 4.60.122

admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »