Vertical Tabs setting available? - Emojis are shown as ??

Features wanted...
cyberpunker

Vertical Tabs setting available? - Emojis are shown as ??

Post by cyberpunker »

I'm a new user to XYplorer, I'm a programmer and I consider myself a superuser. I've been comparing side by side Directory Opus (a new user too) to this wonderful piece of software. I managed by myself to configure it so well to my needs in a few hours, but I can not find any way to change the horizontal tabs to vertical tabs as Directory Opus can do, as shown on the official page:

https://www.gpsoft.com.au/help/opus12/i ... plays1.htm

Vertical folder tabs
Folder tabs can now be displayed vertically (to the left or right of the file display) as well as horizontally (above or below).

Is there a way the developers could work on this feature 8) ?
I found a link from 2017 asking the same thing.
viewtopic.php?t=17940

Another thing, when you try to add any Emoji character it's shown as double interrogation character ??
But at least it can display the Emojis perfectly. The workaround to add an Emoji to any file name, is using the built-in Windows Explorer.
Could this issue be fixed please?
Attachments
XYplorer Emoji ISSUE.jpg
XYplorer Emoji ISSUE.jpg (368.71 KiB) Viewed 1546 times
Last edited by cyberpunker on 25 Mar 2022 05:42, edited 1 time in total.

WirlyWirly

Re: Vertical Tabs setting available? - Emojis are shown as ??

Post by WirlyWirly »

Emoji characters work fine for me, I'm using a basic font Roboto. The ?? sign is usually shown when the character to be displayed is not defined in the displayed font. I'm assuming this is the case since all the other emoji's on your screenshot are being displayed properly.

As for the request, I personally don't see any use for it, but then again I'm in vertical panes mode so I've never considered it.

Also... A power/super user who uses emoji's in their filenames? :naughty:

cyberpunker

Post by cyberpunker »