Disable script commands status bar modifications

Features wanted...
highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by highend »

In general when looping over a large amount of files it would be nice if he could use a setting command to disable the status line modification of commands.
E.g. tag or tagitems print what tags they've written

For example: setting "StatusbarUpdates", 0;

You don't know how many files have been tagged or how long it may take (estimated) when a status command with a progress output gets overwritten by the tag/tagitems script commands.
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

So you don't want to disable ALL script commands status bar modifications, but only SOME?

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by highend »

No, all of them, apart from status itself ofc. I was working with those two when I wrote that request, hence I've used these as examples.
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

OK, I'll see...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

It's not as simple as I thought. The status bar modifications are triggered all over the place, but you don't want to turn off ALL of them.

What about doing it just for "tag" and "tagitems" with some flag?

eil
Posts: 1617
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 19:44

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by eil »

just a little idea, but maybe it can be useful: how about a new command or parameter for Status-command that can be set in pairs, and any commands in between can not change status-bar. if user will want to use Status-command in script, while using such no-status-change logic, one will have to use these pairs multiple times and Status-commands with messages in between.
Win 7 SP1 x64 100% 1366x768

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

that was my initial idea, but things are too complex for this approach

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by highend »

Mh, for specific commands... Ok, but I would ask for additional ones to be mutable. E.g. timestamp is another one that's too verbose...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

I found a way to implement our initial idea:

Code: Select all

    + Scripting got a new command.
      Name: ShowStatus
      Action: Controls whether certain commands show a statusbar message.
      Syntax: showstatus [show=1]
        show        1 = [default] show
                    0 = don't show
      Remarks:
        - The initial setting for any script is 1 (show).
        - Commands that are affected:
          - tag
          - tagitems
          - timestamp
      Example:
        showstatus 0; tag 4; echo "no status"; showstatus; tag 3; echo "status";

jupe
Posts: 2758
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by jupe »

I had a query on this Don, when one of those commands that showstatus applies to is used in a function, then showstatus can't be called in the main script, it has to be called (likely repetitively) within every function call, ie. it doesn't apply globally, is that correct? An example, if required:

Code: Select all

"Status Shown"
  showstatus 0;
  st();
function st() { tag 1; }


"Status NOT shown"
  st2();
function st2() { showstatus 0; tag 1; }

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

Yes, I think I will change it to the way you expected it to work. Feels like a semi-bug fix. The next beta will have it. (No mention in change log)

jupe
Posts: 2758
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by jupe »

If there are no objections, do you think it would be possible to add "spot patterns" to showstatus (eg. "spot on/off" text), or would that be too difficult because it isn't actually its own SC?

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by highend »

I'd like to see colorfilter() being added to the list, I use it in a CEA and it's way too verbose (for me) :maf:
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by admin »

Added it to SC colorfilter(). But, as you guessed, this cannot be applied to Spot on/off. Totally different ball park.

jupe
Posts: 2758
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: Disable script commands status bar modifications

Post by jupe »

Minor thing but I noticed that colorfilter wasn't added as one of the affected commands to the help for showstatus.

Post Reply