64-bit XYplorer

Features wanted...
Post Reply
alan65
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 Nov 2019 19:52

64-bit XYplorer

Post by alan65 »

It would be nice if XYplorer were a native 64-bit program. Nobody uses 32-bit operating system anymore.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50430
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by admin »

Yet more and more people are using XYplorer. Reason: It works great on a 64-bit operating system. :)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

alan65
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 Nov 2019 19:52

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by alan65 »

I admit it works very well on 64-bit Windows 10, which is why I purchased a lifetime license, and use it every day.

Enternal
Posts: 1174
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 18:26

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by Enternal »

Works so well I kind of stopped updating it often as the version I had never had any big issues, lol. Though it's probably time I update it to the latest version now and see what new features it has since then.

Slibc
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Nov 2019 16:03

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by Slibc »

Vote for native x64 Xyplorer too

Delphine
Posts: 23
Joined: 24 Jun 2019 18:37

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by Delphine »

Please stop dreaming. You'll never have a XYPlorer 64 bits version, nor a dual tree.

zakoul
Posts: 19
Joined: 11 Dec 2019 10:44

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by zakoul »

admin wrote: โ†‘03 Feb 2020 21:24 It works great on a 64-bit operating system. :)
And how in a 64-bit system when double-clicking on a reg file (*.reg) run the 64-bit registry editor "C:\Windows\regedit.exe" ? Opens the 32-bit registry editor "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\regedit.exe".
Same with the *.bat,*.cmd files. When double-clicking instead of "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe " starts "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cmd.exe".

Shouldn't Xyplorer in a 64-bit system work without additional actions ?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50430
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by admin »

That's how it's designed by the makers of Windows. You can use the 64-bit context menu "Open" to catch the 64-bit branch.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

zakoul
Posts: 19
Joined: 11 Dec 2019 10:44

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by zakoul »

admin wrote: โ†‘04 Mar 2020 12:23 You can use the 64-bit context menu "Open" to catch the 64-bit branch.
Using the context menu is not convenient and long, it is easier to double-click.
For myself, I solved the problem by adding the following to "Open with... / Customize File Associations":

Code: Select all

bat;cmd>"%SystemRoot%\System32\cmd.exe" /C
reg>"%SystemRoot%\regedit.exe"
Probably in 64-bit systems this should be activated by default?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50430
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by admin »

That's a good tip. :tup:

Should it be activated by default? Not sure. Since Windows separates both worlds so strictly this crossing-the-line might not be the expected behavior.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

zakoul
Posts: 19
Joined: 11 Dec 2019 10:44

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by zakoul »

do not correspond to the expected behavior - this is when you click 2 times on the reg-file, but instead the data is entered into the registry not clearly where, and then you think because of what it does not work as it should.
You can add an option to "Configuration/Other/Shell Integration/64-bit Windows" Open reg, bat, cmd files with 64-bit applications.
or 2 options:
Use 64-bit regedit.exe
Use 64-bit cmd.exe

autocart
Posts: 878
Joined: 26 Sep 2013 15:22

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by autocart »

zakoul wrote: โ†‘04 Mar 2020 14:03 do not correspond to the expected behavior - this is when you click 2 times on the reg-file, but instead the data is entered into the registry not clearly where, and then you think because of what it does not work as it should.
You can add an option to "Configuration/Other/Shell Integration/64-bit Windows" Open reg, bat, cmd files with 64-bit applications.
or 2 options:
Use 64-bit regedit.exe
Use 64-bit cmd.exe
That would make some sense.

caseym54
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 May 2020 03:39

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by caseym54 »

admin wrote: โ†‘03 Feb 2020 21:24 Yet more and more people are using XYplorer. Reason: It works great on a 64-bit operating system. :)
Except where it doesn't. Preview handlers being a sore point, and a must in any file explorer replacement. Nobody writes new stuff for 32-bit OSes. CBR, CBZ, EPUB, MOBI for some examples. CAD files, too. The handlers are out there for 64-bit Windows, but even in a system where they are installed, XYplorer cannot use them.

nas8e9
Posts: 2178
Joined: 21 Jun 2008 14:50

Re: 64-bit XYplorer

Post by nas8e9 »

caseym54 wrote: โ†‘03 May 2020 03:51
admin wrote: โ†‘03 Feb 2020 21:24 Yet more and more people are using XYplorer. Reason: It works great on a 64-bit operating system. :)
Except where it doesn't. Preview handlers being a sore point, and a must in any file explorer replacement. Nobody writes new stuff for 32-bit OSes. CBR, CBZ, EPUB, MOBI for some examples. CAD files, too. The handlers are out there for 64-bit Windows, but even in a system where they are installed, XYplorer cannot use them.
Hi and welcome,

Did you see this? The developer is working on a 64-bit version.

Post Reply