Drag & Drop from Browser

Features wanted...
Post Reply
kodyman
Posts: 183
Joined: 09 Apr 2011 04:05

Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by kodyman » 14 Feb 2019 00:11

I have a folder set up to save browser bookmarks. If I find something I want to reference later I select and drag the link from the address bar. Works fine, Except when I drag a link that is already in the folder.
Instead of getting a pop-up that alerts me the "file" already exists like in WE, it just puts the link in the folder again with a (copy of -01) suffix.
I have looked through the configuration settings and help but haven't found anything that seems to address this.
I am running the latest ver 19.60.0100. But this has been happening for some time with earlier versions. I'm just finally getting around to asking about it.

Any suggestions on how to get the pop-up to display in Xy vs using WE for my drag and drops?

Thanks

kodyman
Posts: 183
Joined: 09 Apr 2011 04:05

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by kodyman » 16 Feb 2019 19:03

A gentle bump...

Could someone check to see if the above is normal for drag and drop from the browser address bar with Xyp?
ie. you get a 2nd (or even 3rd or more) copy of the same address with the (copy of -xx) suffix added to each filename.
Instead of being notified via a pop-up that it already exists.
I still haven't found a setting that I may have clicked to cause this. Other "normal" drag and drop file copy/move work fine in Xyp. I get notification if it already exists.

I am currently keeping a small WE window open in the corner of my screen to drag to since it will provide me the notification. I would rather just have Xyp open to drag to, opening up some screen space.

Thanks.

SammaySarkar
Posts: 4206
Joined: 12 Mar 2014 17:27
Location: Asteroid B-612 / Dhaka
Contact:

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by SammaySarkar » 17 Feb 2019 06:29

Yes, can confirm. Moving topic to wishes.

kodyman
Posts: 183
Joined: 09 Apr 2011 04:05

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by kodyman » 17 Feb 2019 17:11

Thank you confirming Sammay.
Now I know it wasn't a setting I overlooked. I will watch to see if the wish is implemented.
Until then I'll keep using WE for this particular kind of drag and drop.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47182
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by admin » 18 Feb 2019 16:55

Ah yes, it's on my list since viewtopic.php?f=3&t=12773

Guess I'll add it now... :whistle:

yuyu
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Jun 2018 12:40

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by yuyu » 19 Feb 2019 17:03

admin wrote:
18 Feb 2019 16:55
Guess I'll add it now... :whistle:
Please could you also add a possibility to copy from addressbar to catalog?
I mean drag.
Last edited by yuyu on 19 Feb 2019 17:13, edited 1 time in total.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47182
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by admin » 19 Feb 2019 17:10

Hä? :eh:

yuyu
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Jun 2018 12:40

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by yuyu » 19 Feb 2019 17:19

admin wrote:
19 Feb 2019 17:10
Hä? :eh:
Impossible to drag addresses to catalog.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47182
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by admin » 19 Feb 2019 17:20

Address Bar does not support any dragging, sorry.

jupe
Posts: 1159
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: 1903 x64

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by jupe » 19 Feb 2019 17:26

I think he means the web browser address bar to catalog

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47182
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Drag & Drop from Browser

Post by admin » 19 Feb 2019 17:31

Ah, sure!

But the answer is no. Or maybe later. Not easy to do and does not fit in right now.

Post Reply