TouchScreenMode

Features wanted...
Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

TouchScreenMode

Post by Filehero »

Code: Select all

v18.20.0207 - 2017-08-23 13:52
    + Tweak TouchScreenMode: Experimentally added a tweak to force bigger icons 
      in Tree, List, and Catalog. Big enough to be touched with big fingers.
        TouchScreenMode=0   'normal (usually 16x16 at 100% screen resolution)
        TouchScreenMode=1   '32x32
        TouchScreenMode=2   '48x48
      This allows you to carry XY on a stick to any touchscreen system and still 
      use it without changing the host system display settings or bringing a mouse.
I like this experiment.

My usage scenario: on the same device (dpi/desktop scaling) I want to be able to switch between stationary mode (no enlargement) and touch mode.

Ideas:
- make it toggable by a touchable toolbar button (on/off, respecting the chosen scaling factor)
- optionally, co-enable full screen mode (especially to widen the tree pane)

FH

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60531
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by admin »

Filehero wrote: - make it toggable by a touchable toolbar button (on/off, respecting the chosen scaling factor)
That's an idea. For now (next beta) I added it to SC tweak so you can easily play with it.

yusef88
Posts: 1126
Joined: 28 Jan 2013 03:50
Location: Windows 8.1 32-bit

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by yusef88 »

I don't have a touchscreen but I liked the big icons

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by Filehero »

This

Code: Select all

v18.20.0208 - 2017-08-24 16:23
    + SC tweak enhanced: Added a "value2" parameter which allows toggling 
      between two specific values.
      Syntax: tweak(key, [value], [value2])
        key:    Name of the setting (identical to its INI key).
        value:  Numeric. Desired value of the setting.
                If "" then value is toggled between 1 and 0.
                If missing then only the current value is returned.
        value2: Numeric. If passed then the function toggles between value and value2.
        return: The old value before the tweak was applied.
      Examples:
        tweak("TouchScreenMode", 2, 0); //toggle 2 and 0
+

Image
http://icons.iconarchive.com/icons/icon ... h-icon.png

works like charm. :D

Thanks Don.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60531
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by admin »

Which size do you use, 32 or 48?

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by Filehero »

admin wrote:Which size do you use, 32 or 48?
I think 48, but I will re-think.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60531
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by admin »

32 and 48 are possible with v18.20.0301, but you have to tweak for 48:

Code: Select all

TouchScreenModeProps=1

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by Filehero »

admin wrote:32 and 48 are possible with v18.20.0301, but you have to tweak for 48:

Code: Select all

TouchScreenModeProps=1
:tup:

Have you got yourself a Surface Pro?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60531
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by admin »

Not yet.

So, is it a good feature if you got one?

klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by klownboy »

Hey Don, I don't have a computer or tablet with a touch screen, but I can see how this change could really be useful. Actually, I think it's useful even without the touchscreen especially for those of us with less than ideal eyesight. I think adding an additional sub feature would make it even more so for touch or non-touch screens. That is, be able to toggle the font size at the the same time as an subset option. There are scripts out there in the forum that will bump up or down the font size but I think this could be a very nice feature if incorporated directly into XYplorer. Check out this old font size toggle script (I believe it or a similar script came from TheQwerty). I've added the new command ID #315 to it such that it toggles the icon size along with the font. Assign the small script to a button.

Code: Select all

"Toggle Font Size"
    // Retrieve the current state and toggle to the new state.
    $state = CTBState(! CTBState());
 
    // Retrieve the current icon and set it to the new one.
    $action = CTBIcon(($state ? ':zoomin' : ':zoomout'));
 
    // The icon also acts as the action to take in the current state.
    // But we need to strip the leading ':' to convert from icon to button name.
    $action = SubStr($action, 1);

	// Repeatedly call the corresponding button.
	$repeats = 3;
	// Toggle icons
	#315;
    while ($repeats > 0) {
        $repeats--;

        Button($action, 1);
    }
It looks and works great, but I think it would be even better if it was a built-in XY option. Even more users without touch screens would get some serious use out of it. Thanks.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60531
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by admin »

Thanks, I hoped for this wish. I already prepared TouchScreenModeProps to hold such options. Next beta...

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by Filehero »

admin wrote:Thanks, I hoped for this wish.
Arghh, some days ago I already had typed "just a GUI scale up". :mrgreen:

klownboy
Posts: 4139
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by klownboy »

:tup: Works great Don, thanks. It's much more robust than using the above script to step up or down the font size. Thanks Filehero for bringing this up. I still don't know whether I'll spring for a Surface device or buy a light weight laptop for traveling like a Dell XPS 13" or even 15" since they have that thin bezel InfinityEdge display.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

Filehero
Posts: 2644
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 18:50
Location: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by Filehero »

admin wrote:So, is it a good feature if you got one?
Yes. If you work "on your knees" without a mouse and keyboard, it's more or less necessary.
But I wouldn't do any heavy file work this way anyway. It's just to move/copy/search some some files around.

What about the toolbar icons?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60531
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: TouchScreenMode

Post by admin »

Filehero wrote:What about the toolbar icons?
Too ugly. Need to wait for vector based icons...

Post Reply