REQ : Catalog Updates

Features wanted...
VeeGee

REQ : Catalog Updates

Post by VeeGee »

Good morning all,
I started playing around w/Catalogs this morning. Mixed results so far, mainly trying to find a reason to use them for my setup. One thing I noticed when using the 'Favorite Folders' and 'Favorite Files' catalogs is that they do not auto-update/refresh when new 'favorites' are added. I may have mentioned this in another thread.

If I use the menus to add new favorite folders or files, the 'star' toolbars buttons update, but the catalog doesn't. This doesn't seem right to me. If I add a favorite something, it should refresh or update wherever that data is used.

For a request, is it possible to have it update the catalogs when new favorites are added via menu commands, etc. ? Seems like something that would be easy to implement.

Without this updating feature, using these 2 types of catalogs seems pointless to me (unless I am completely missing something).

VeeGee

Re: REQ : Catalog Updates

Post by VeeGee »

Good morning all,
I am still struggling to see the point of the Favorite Folders/Files Catalogs. It doesn't appear that there is any connection between the Catalog and Favorite Folder/File icons on the toolbar. In a pane, I can easily toggle a favorite item and it immediately appears on my toolbar (in the dropdown); however, the Catalog doesn't update. Also, updating the Catalog doesn't update the icons on the toolbar. IMO, if something in the app is marked, added, flagged, etc. as a favorite (folder or file), it should appear everywhere where the term Favorite Folder/File is referenced/used.

For now, I've removed the Catalogs and am using the toolbar icons and the custom hamburger (thanks again for this :tup: !).

Am I better off not using the Catalog and sticking to the button ? or am I just flat missing something ?

VeeGee

Post by VeeGee »

Bump.

RalphM

Post by RalphM »