Copy folders

Features wanted...
Post Reply
raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Copy folders

Post by raananb » 15 Dec 2016 18:06

When Copying a folder there is no display of the name of the folder in question.

The same is true for the panel 'Replace or Ignore'.

Displaying the folder name adds to the security of the operation.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47953
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Copy folders

Post by admin » 16 Dec 2016 10:16

Not sure what you mean. Where exactly would you like to see the name?

raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Re: Copy folders

Post by raananb » 16 Dec 2016 19:00

In the title would be fine: "Copying xxxxx 53%"

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47953
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Copy folders

Post by admin » 19 Dec 2016 07:53

Still not sure which interface you are talking about. In Custom Copy the full path is always stated, and Custom Copy is the only copy interface I can fully control.

raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Re: Copy folders

Post by raananb » 19 Dec 2016 10:28

The Copy function I have in mind is 'Copy here', invoked by a right-click on a folder, dragging the selected folder to the desired location then selecting 'Copy here' upon release of mouse.

My request is to display the full path of the copied folder in the 'Copy' panel as well as in the 'Replace or ignore the files' panel.

This means adding [Folder to copy] to the line
'Copy of xx elements from [disk name Disk letter] to [destination folder]',
to give
'Copy of xx elements from [disk name Disk letter Folder to copy] to [destination folder]'

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47953
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Copy folders

Post by admin » 19 Dec 2016 10:38

Looks like you are talking about the shell copy interface. This is owned by Windows, I cannot change it.

Enable XYplorer's Custom Copy and you get what you need: Configuration | File Operations | Custom Copy Operations | Use Custom Copy

raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Re: Copy folders

Post by raananb » 19 Dec 2016 11:57

Thanks for indicating the 'Confguration' option, as 'Custom Copy' is much more informative.

The issue is almost solved, but still, Custom copy displays:

Copied from: [disk unit], not
Copied from: [full folder path]

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47953
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Copy folders

Post by admin » 19 Dec 2016 12:03

What are you missing, it's all there:
Attachments
CuCopy.png
CuCopy.png (54.44 KiB) Viewed 5823 times

raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Re: Copy folders

Post by raananb » 19 Dec 2016 12:21

When copying folder 'AccountsManager', From: (below Custom copy in progress) contains the parent folder, not the copied folder.

Image

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47953
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Copy folders

Post by admin » 19 Dec 2016 12:39

Yes, at the top of the window it's from-location to-location.

But lower down right above the progress bar, you see the full paths.

raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Re: Copy folders

Post by raananb » 19 Dec 2016 13:22

I am not adamant about the subject; I simply thought it more appropriate that the name of the folder which is copied appear at the top of the panel, as this is the subject of the panel.

This would mean, instead of displaying From:[parent folder] displaying Copying:[copied folder path].

Have a pleasant end-of-year.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 47953
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: Copy folders

Post by admin » 19 Dec 2016 13:31

But this would only work when you copy just one item at a time, right? When you select and copy two or more folders you would have to use the current way anyway.

Same to you. :)

raananb
Posts: 127
Joined: 12 Feb 2008 23:38

Re: Copy folders

Post by raananb » 19 Dec 2016 15:37

I have not yet found how to 'Copy here' more than one folder at a time...

Never mind, I'll survive (but less comfortably) if the folder name is not displayed where I expect it.

Post Reply