Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Features wanted...
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60558
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by admin »

Uhm, I don't know this script. Any idea what could be causing the trouble?

JLoftus
Posts: 579
Joined: 22 Jan 2014 14:58

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by JLoftus »

Thanks for confirming @highend, I was pretty sure the script was still OK, I was indeed afraid the behavior resulted from the new MUSD feature (which is amazing!). I can't live without either of these things! :)

Hopefully Don can figure out what is happening.

Thanks

highend
Posts: 13313
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by highend »

The relevant thing it does is this:

Code: Select all

		ControlSetText, , % content, % "ahk_id" columnEditControlHWND
		WinActivate, % "ahk_id" columnEditControlHWND
Nothing more, nothing less. XY doesn't recognize the changed content when you hit the OK button
in the "Edit Item Names" dialog window any more (but only since v0227). At least it does not do
it unless you make any manual additional change... v0226 works fine
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

JLoftus
Posts: 579
Joined: 22 Jan 2014 14:58

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by JLoftus »

highend wrote:it does not do it unless you make any manual additional change... v0226 works fine
Confirmed... if, after making changes in the external editor, you change even just one character in the preview, then it works correctly.

But, passing the changes through just as before, with no modification, they are no longer recognized.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60558
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by admin »

Ah, it's this that causes it:

Code: Select all

! SC obfuscate: Obfuscation of the Address Bar wasn't done right. Fixed.
I will see what I can do...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60558
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by admin »

Should work again in next version.

JLoftus
Posts: 579
Joined: 22 Jan 2014 14:58

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by JLoftus »

admin wrote:Should work again in next version.
Great!!! Thanks so much Don!

JLoftus
Posts: 579
Joined: 22 Jan 2014 14:58

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by JLoftus »

admin wrote:Should work again in next version.
Indeed, this is fixed in 229. Thanks very much to you both for helping to figure out the problem!

JLoftus
Posts: 579
Joined: 22 Jan 2014 14:58

Re: Column Mode Editing in "Edit Item Names" dialog

Post by JLoftus »

@Highend hoping you can help me figure something out about this script... if I close the columnedit.txt file and do not save it (sometimes I have a need to abandon the edit) then the compiled script (columnedit.exe) never exits, I have to close it from the tray.

This is because the SetTimer for the Quit function never gets called, because the timestamp for columnedit.txt didn't change (because I didn't save it).

What I can't figure out is a way to account for this. Any ideas?

Thanks

Post Reply