Column autosize idea...

Features wanted...
kunkel321

Column autosize idea...

Post by kunkel321 »

An idea of how to program the automatic sizing of column widths when in Details View...

In below image:
A = total pane width
B = Name column
C = width of everything other than Name column

For my own purposes (and maybe that of other people), C remains constant. So make B = A-C.
(As I write this, it occurs to me that this is probably already a pref option.. If so, where is the setting?)
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

binocular222

Re: Column autosize idea...

Post by binocular222 »

Tweak: AutosizeColumnsMaxWidth
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

kunkel321

Post by kunkel321 »

binocular222 wrote:Tweak: AutosizeColumnsMaxWidth
I think this is always a static number though (unless 0, unlimited). I'm imagining a 'dynamically' changing number. The idea is to always allow the maximum space for long file names, but also, always squeeze my other columns (Ext, Date, Size) in there so that I never have to use the horizontal scroll bar... Does that even make sense?

EDIT: Since XY has to always assess that tweak when drawing the pane, I'm guessing that the additional computational resources needed to calculate "B" (as defined above) would be negligible. (?)
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

highend

Post by highend »

It does (I would like the same) but... it comes at a cost. At least for me.

If you use a high resolution 16:9 monitor and only the few standard columns (size, modified, created) the name column would be incredible large even if your (file / folder-) names aren't and it's getting harder to see which properties belong to what. At least if you don't use things like zebra striping (which I don't). So user defined rules how columns are sized would be required to fit everybody's needs...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

TheQwerty

Post by TheQwerty »

What happens when C > A?