Custom status bar info

Features wanted...
Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by Evolve »

BTW, the Bar3 by default (without custom pattern) shows different stuff if there is something selected (current item name) vs nothing is selected (info on free/used space). It'd be cool if we were able to set up in the pattern what to show for "no selection" case as well.

UsefulBar3.png
UsefulBar3.png (5.72 KiB) Viewed 1281 times
UselessBar3.png
UselessBar3.png (4.96 KiB) Viewed 1281 times

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

Right. But for now I will just go back to the SB default when nothing is selected.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

This Custom Status Bar Info (CSBI) is a lovely new feature. It's nice to have some extra information about the selected file in the status bar without having to display an entire column or hover over the file to see an info tip.

Just run this through the address bar to get some on-the-fly image info right in the status bar*:

Code: Select all

statusbartemplate('<prop #image.dimensions> (<prop #aspectratio>)', 1);
And this to turn it off again:

Code: Select all

statusbartemplate(, 0); //don't use
* v22.50.0210 does not yet update the status bar directly after the call. v22.50.0211 will.

Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by Evolve »

With new prefix |s| vertical bar stopped working in my pattern, can you make it possible to escape it \| somehow?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

vertical bar?

Got it. Next beta...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

Evolve wrote: 03 Dec 2021 20:26BTW, I just found that with <get LengthsSelected> the selection in the List is lagging when I select lots of files. It seems like it's waiting for the calculation. Can you make it render the List selection first, and the number on the bar3 when the calculation is ready?
Problem should be history with v22.50.0216.

Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by Evolve »

First off, thanks for all the improvements!
A couple of comments.
1. The solution with Length column needs caching, otherwise every switch to a tab with that column is painful.
2. In some folders I just don't need Length column. Can you add a flag to <get LengthsSelected> to force it get info from that column only and if there is no such a column, then don’t go to property itself?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

1. I assumed you always show all the audio columns. Looks like your folders are too full. Caching here is not planned ATM.
2. Okay.

klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by klownboy »

Appreciate the smartness you've built into the shorthand Custom Status Bar (i.e., taking care of conditions - file not an image, etc.). Previously when the file was not an image, you would get an info icon for something like this: <prop #image.dimensions> (<prop #aspectratio>) when used in Configuration > Template. And, if not applicable, the parenthesis would show up. When used in a script you could obviously set your conditions. :tup:
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by Evolve »

admin wrote: 05 Dec 2021 16:03 1. I assumed you always show all the audio columns. Looks like your folders are too full. Caching here is not planned ATM.
I'm talking about caching the Length column only, I don't have any audio columns whatsoever. It's just that your solution uses that column, but if I turn it on the tabs calculate that column every single switching.
PS: BTW, special Length property for some reason gets calculated slower than the standard one.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

The special property column does much more than the standard shell property column, hence it takes some more time. I'll add a flag to use the standard shell property instead.

Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by Evolve »

Code: Select all

4 = Use the shell property "Length" (otherwise use XY's native and more exact special property "audio.length").
Doesn't seem to be working for the localized property. Maybe just pull data from any (leftmost) column named "Length"? I can rename mine like that.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

Hmm, tricky. What's the index of the Length property for you? Here it is 27.
Attachments
2021-12-06_081650.png
2021-12-06_081650.png (8.98 KiB) Viewed 1129 times

Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by Evolve »

Same here, 27...
PS: When I give it 6, it returns nothing, where with 4 it returns 00:00:00

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Custom status bar info

Post by admin »

Try again with the next beta.

Post Reply