Separate Address bars, positioned within the tabs

Features wanted...
aplocher

Separate Address bars, positioned within the tabs

Post by aplocher »

Hello, first of all, I love XYplorer. It's a great tool that I've almost completely replaced Windows Explorer with. I'm a software engineer with a heavy focus on User Experience (UX) and I think a near perfect UX is very important. I love XY, but there are some improvements that I think can be made which would make it more aesthetically pleasing and easier on the eyes.

There has been a long debate over which is more aesthetically pleasing and makes the most sense, but I think the position that the address bar should be contained within the tab is the popular one these days. I think it's especially important with XY, because the start of the textbox is directly above the TreeView,

Both FireFox and Chrome have adopted the inner address bar UX. For some reason, IE hasn't, but they have some really great UX elements to keep the UI tight and compact. I think it's especially important for side-by-side views due to the distance your eyes have to travel between the folder and the address bar (esp for the view on the right side)

It makes sense for multiple reasons:
  • I think of the tabpage as the container of that view - it's the region that my eyes stay within when working on that folder. It should be the outer-most container of the folder you're viewing and the address bar which represents a part of that folder goes inside it. It could be argued that even the TreeView could go in there, but I think that would take up too much screen real estate (the treeview is another discussion)
  • With split screen view, it is confusing looking at the address bar for multiple reasons:
    a) Address bar starts above the TreeView (or with no TreeView, it starts above pane #1 on the left).