FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Features wanted...
highend
Posts: 13330
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by highend »

How do you pass a command onto an executable residing outside of XY's root using that?
I never said that fastcopy.exe is outside of XY's path...

I just mentioned that <xypath> works and I'm quite sure that every other XY's variable will work, too.
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60610
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by admin »

If you use SC copier then all sorts of variables are resolved by the scripting engine. If you directly tweak the INI then nothing is resolved. I will change the latter in the next version.

oblivion
Posts: 142
Joined: 13 Apr 2011 11:35

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by oblivion »

admin wrote:Scripting:

Code: Select all

copier "FastCopy|C:\Program Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/auto_close";
I am currently feeling a strange combination of acute frustration, undoubtedly borne of my own stupidity, and the urge to burst into tears. :cry:

I saw the news link this morning, promising integration with Teracopy / Fastcopy and have read all this stuff.

Despite my efforts to get to grips with it, I'm much less clear on scripting as I'd like. Apparently, everyone else here has a black belt and I'm still trying to get my robe on in a way that doesn't display my backside to the world... ;)

I'm running 13.40.0200 under Win7 32-bit.

I can't make XYPlorer recognise any other copy handler than XYcopy.exe v2.10.0046

I have custom copy checked in the file operations bit of the options.

I've tried running XYP normally and elevated. And whatever I do, I can't make the above script line produce anything other than errors. I have run FastCopy and done its shell integration, so at least it appears on the Windows right-click menu.

I'm either missing something terribly basic, or I've done something appalling to my XY setup.

If -- as seems more likely -- it's the "something terribly basic" part, can anyone point me at something tutorial-ish that might help me get a better understanding of how this stuff works? (I used to write a LOT of batchfiles, starting in the 1980s and still doing it sometimes even now, I understand a reasonable amount of the concepts behind script-style approaches to programming, I've even written some reasonably complex autohotkey scripts in the last couple of years and I don't understand why I can't get to grips with XY scripting ... but this exercise is making me feel SO stupid I want to throw things :veryconfused: )
-- bests, Tim

...This space unintentionally left blank.

highend
Posts: 13330
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by highend »

You need v13.40.0204 to be able to use the sc() "copier"...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

Enternal
Posts: 1174
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 18:26

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by Enternal »

@ oblivion
Hahaha don't worry. It's not that. I think you forgot to download the latest beta from:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 529#p97529

That's the version (and one previous beta) that supports the new scripting command.

Anyways, I'm having so much fun with the new copier command right now.

Code: Select all

"_Initialize"
	// Path To Copiers
	Perm $P_FastPath="%PersonalReal%\Applications\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe";
	Perm $P_TeraPath="%ProgramW6432%\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe";
	// Default Parameters
	Global $G_FastParams = "/auto_close /open_window /estimate /no_exec /verify";
	Global $G_TeraParams = "/RenameAll";

"Custom Copy Engine|<xy>"
""
"FastCopy|$P_FastPath"
	Global $G_FastParams;
	$G_FastParams = Input("FastCopy Parameters","","/auto_close /open_window /estimate /no_exec /verify");
	Copier "FastCopy|$P_FastPath|$G_FastParams";
"TeraCopy|$P_TeraPath"
	Global $G_TeraParams;
	$G_TeraParams = Input("TeraCopy Parameters","","/RenameAll");
	Copier "TeraCopy|$P_TeraPath|$G_TeraParams";
"XYCopy|<xy>"
	Copier; //Back to Custom Copy
""
"Edit|:conf"
	Openwith "Notepad2",,"<xyscripts>\CustomCopy.xys";
Just simply change the variables under _Initialize to whatever you want as your default. Anyways, it will pop up a little dialog where you can change the command lines to fit your needs even further. Obviously the "Edit" item does not work haha (looking forward to it Don!) but yes. This is really nice! I can change copiers depeding on what files I need to copy over (since each copier has its own strength and weaknesses, this is great!). Yeah!

Thank you Don!

oblivion
Posts: 142
Joined: 13 Apr 2011 11:35

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by oblivion »

Enternal wrote:@ oblivion
Hahaha don't worry. It's not that. I think you forgot to download the latest beta from:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 529#p97529
Now I feel really stupid. :)

Thanks!
-- bests, Tim

...This space unintentionally left blank.

Nighted
Posts: 459
Joined: 21 Jan 2007 01:58
Location: Gitmo Nation North, Win 7/10/Linux/(x64)

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by Nighted »

Thank you Don!!! :cup:

Copier=FastCopy|<xydrive>\Portable Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/auto_close

Copier=FastCopy|..\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/auto_close

Copier=FastCopy|%HomeDrive%\Portable Files\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/auto_close

now work as expected. :appl:
I want XY to serve soft ice cream. Please Don, make XY serve soft ice cream.


Enternal
Posts: 1174
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 18:26

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by Enternal »

On XP, it made a difference. On 7 and above, it's true that it's faster a lot of times but now always. On the other hand, I always liked copiers since it allows you to pause/resume, manage, and make sure that the files are verified. More control.

And yes, FastCopy is Japanese! That should draw more customers from Japan! Embarrassing to say, I first tried FastCopy because it was a Japanese program. Ended up loving it even though it has an ugly interface lol.

cslevine
Posts: 62
Joined: 15 May 2013 12:26

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by cslevine »

It will be easier for me and the user if I supply an easy but rather hard-coded way to use specific products
Wow : it would be absolutily another killer feature, if you could implemant this for 3 or 4 alternative copiers :
-Fastcopy ( but it's G.U.I. is a bit hard for beginners )
-Supercopier2 ( i use it always )
-Teracopy

and make a choice in the settings with a listbox, including XYcopy.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60610
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by admin »

AFAIK there is no command line for SuperCopier. That makes it impossible.

Borut
Posts: 1412
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by Borut »

How about differentiating between copying and moving? Instead of

Code: Select all

General syntax: Caption|Executable|Switches
define

Code: Select all

General syntax: Caption|Executable|Switches for copy[|Switches for move]
If Switches for move are defined, then these would be used for moving and the other ones for copying. If Switches for move are NOT defined, then the others would be used in all contexts.

In my opinion that would be nice for FastCopy, which has the move option.
Win 10 Pro 64bit

binocular222
Posts: 1416
Joined: 04 Nov 2008 05:35
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by binocular222 »

Not yet understand the syntax. Example: copy from C:\Test.txt to D:\ I tried this (not worked) syntax:

Code: Select all

copier "FastCopy|<xyscripts>\FastCopy\x32\FastCopy.exe|C:\Test.txt /to=D:\"
Why not work?
Do you use perm to store "items to be copied" > goto destination folder > trigger the script? Using perm is squishy really.
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

Borut
Posts: 1412
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by Borut »

binocular222,

in the switches part, use only those switches which control how it is to be done, not which files are to be copied and where to. Source and destination issues are handled by XYplorer internally, so to speak.
Win 10 Pro 64bit

binocular222
Posts: 1416
Joined: 04 Nov 2008 05:35
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam

Re: FastCopy (a better alternative than teracopy)

Post by binocular222 »

ah, I see.
Then, "copier" command doesn't do anything other than simply changing XY's config to use external copy handler. Why not move it to F9 (Config)?
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

Post Reply