Command for visibility of Labels

Features wanted...
Post Reply
FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 855
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Command for visibility of Labels

Post by FluxTorpedoe »

Hi'

Here's a tiny wish:
Could we have a command to toggle the visibility of Labels?

I've been missing this feature for a while and didn't dare to ask, but now with the new Instant Color Filters, I think it's even more relevant. That way we could easily focus on ColorFilters and/or InstantColorFilters and/or Labels.

Thanks, 8)
Flux

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by admin »

Ha, similar thought here yesterday. I suffered from color overkill and was desperately looking for a switch to turn ALL colors off!

You wish makes sense to me. The problem is where to put this command. The state of it should be clearly visible else I will get posts about "where are my labels?!".

FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 855
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by FluxTorpedoe »

Yeah, in general I'm a strong partisan of the "less is more" policy regarding GUIs and colors... 8)
For me, too much information kills information (especially with colors) —hence the benefit of the new Instant Color Filters, btw!

But how to implement this is a bit tricky... (I don't think it should be mixed with the Color Filters button, it would risk introducing confusion.)
Here's a suggestion:

1st step:
- Just create a #command, that any "tweaker" can use at her/his own "risk".

2nd step (later):
- Add a "Toggle Labels Visibility" entry in the menu of buttons "Apply Label" and "Find by Label" ("Labeling people" will probably have them active), and in menu "Favorites".
- Overlay —if possible— a red diagonal/slash on top of the "Find by Label" icon, when visibility is off.

3rd step (much later):
- automatically activate visibility of Labels whenever a Label-related action is run (add, remove, find).

But steps 2 and 3 imply more work, and interfering with working functions...
So in the meantime, most people interested in this visibility ability would have the command to implement in their own CTB!

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by admin »

Yes, that would work but it's a complication that I don't need now short before election, uh, publication (insider joke for Germans only :whistle: ).

FluxTorpedoe
Posts: 855
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 13:15

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by FluxTorpedoe »

I totally agree (& I don't think it's worth the effort compared to your roadmap)! :whistle: :mrgreen:

That's why I think sticking to step 1 is the most sensible way...
Just a simple #command, no fuss and no special publicity, then its use would only stay under the responsibility of each user.

Display
Posts: 77
Joined: 21 Apr 2015 11:20

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by Display »

Is Label visibility an option now? I tried accessing TagStyle with tweak() but it's not supported.
Just wondering if it's possible to toggle or cycle the label style (via a script/button) with TagStyle?

Usually, I'm fine with the 'Name Column' option but recently I've been needing to cycle through 'Whole Row' or 'No Coloring'.
Changing it manually every time [Configuration > Information > Tags > Label style] is starting to stagger my workflow :kidding:

mazot
Posts: 42
Joined: 20 Apr 2020 23:19

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by mazot »

Thought I would have some fun and produced this script.

Code: Select all

"_Initialize";  perm $ScriptFile= self ("file");
	
"_Terminate";  unset $ScriptFile;

-
"setup : setup"
      $a=<<<FOO
<HTML><FORM method="GET" action="xys:">
      <!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>
                   <table border=0 cellspacing=0>  <tr valign=top>
     <td rowspan=1>Style: <select name="style1" ><option value="0|No coloring">0|No coloring</option><option value="1|Name column">1|Name column</option><option value="2|Label column(caption)">2|Label column(caption)</option><option value="4|Label column(symbol)">4|Label column(symbol)</option><option value="8|Whole row">8|Whole row</option>
     <td rowspan=2>Style: <select name="style2" ><option value="0|No coloring">0|No coloring</option><option value="1|Name column">1|Name column</option><option value="2|Label column(caption)">2|Label column(caption)</option><option value="4|Label column(symbol)">4|Label column(symbol)</option><option value="8|Whole row">8|Whole row</option>
   <BR><BR></tr> </table>
  <INPUT type="submit" name="Submit" value="The OK button">
</body>
</html>
FOO;
      $myXYVariable = html("$a", "50", "70", "LABEL STYLE");
   IF ($myXYVariable==""){
    //  msg "cancel pressed";
      END 1==1; //quit whole script
   }
   $myXYVariable= urldecode($myXYVariable)  ;
   $myXYVariable=regexreplace($myXYVariable, "^\?", "");
   $first=gettoken($myXYVariable, 1, "&");
   $keyval1=gettoken( $first, 1, "|") ;
   $val1=gettoken( $keyval1, 2, "=");
   setkey $val1, "style1", "MyValues", $ScriptFile;
   $second=gettoken($myXYVariable, 2, "&");
   $keyval2=gettoken( $second, 1, "|") ;
   $val2=gettoken( $keyval2, 2, "=");
   setkey $val2, "style2", "MyValues", $ScriptFile;
-
"toggle Label Style : toggle"
        #182;  //save all settings
        $mystyle1=getkey("style1", "MyValues", $ScriptFile);
        if( $mystyle1==""){ load $ScriptFile,"setup";}
        $mystyle2=getkey("style2", "MyValues", $ScriptFile);
        if( $mystyle1==0){$tex1="No coloring"}
        elseif( $mystyle1==1){$tex1="Name column"}
        elseif( $mystyle1==2){$tex1="Label column(caption)"}
        elseif( $mystyle1==4){$tex1="Label column(symbol)"}
        else {$tex1="Whole row"}
        if( $mystyle2==0){$tex2="No coloring"}
        elseif( $mystyle2==1){$tex2="Name column"}
        elseif( $mystyle2==2){$tex2="Label column(caption)"}
        elseif( $mystyle2==4){$tex2="Label column(symbol)"}
        else {$tex2="Whole row"}
      //  echo $tex1 . "  " . $tex2;
        $inconfig = getkey("TagStyle", "Settings");
        if( $inconfig==$mystyle1){setkey $mystyle2, "TagStyle", "Settings"};
        elseif( $inconfig==$mystyle2){setkey $mystyle1, "TagStyle", "Settings"};
	else {setkey $mystyle1, "TagStyle", "Settings"}
        #190; //restart without saving
-
"CANCEL"
/*
[MyValues]
style1=
style2=
*/

Display
Posts: 77
Joined: 21 Apr 2015 11:20

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by Display »

Thanks mazot! That choice selector is cool - also like that the settings are stored in the script :)
Unfortunately, the way I launch XYplorer is through an AHK script (which happens to have timers for application restarts) which sometimes gets triggered when your script restarts the XYplorer application and then I get a opening/closing loop of XYplorer :oops: (but I guess that's more a 'me' problem!)

Is an entire application restart the only realistic way to switch the label style?

I tried using the options menu and sendkeys. Kinda slow but I should be able make a cycle script with it. (Sidenote, for some weird reason {PGUP} & {PGDN} don't work) e.g:

Code: Select all

// Whole Rows
::sendkeys "scftt%s{Down 4}{Enter}";#600;
// Name Column
::sendkeys "scftt%s{Up 4}{Down}{Enter}";#600;
Thanks again for your example, I learned a lot from it!

mazot
Posts: 42
Joined: 20 Apr 2020 23:19

Re: Command for visibility of Labels

Post by mazot »

After losing some files including this script, finally got round to producing this.
@ Display I thought you might have completed it but if you have then this is for
everybody else. I have left the original in just incase.
ToggleLabelStyle.zip
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 94 times

Post Reply