Show actual used space when compact is used

Features wanted...
1024mb
Posts: 205
Joined: 14 Dec 2018 23:26

Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by 1024mb »

Right now, XYplorer shows the real (uncompressed) size instead of the actual compressed one when files has been compressed using compact.exe:
XYplorer_2022-01-17_21-02-18.png
XYplorer_2022-01-17_21-02-18.png (91.01 KiB) Viewed 1485 times
As you see, "Space Used" should be stating what "Tamaño on disco" is. Is this possible to do?

Compact has been used with the LZX algorithm.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

Yep, will do after the next release.

1024mb
Posts: 205
Joined: 14 Dec 2018 23:26

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by 1024mb »

Great! :cup:

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

Thinking about it again: Isn't the "Space used" field 1) pretty boring, and b) confusing because it's not the same as "Used space" with drives?

So I tend to replace it with "Size on disk" always. If "Size" and "Size on disk" differ then you know there must be some compression anywhere in that branch.

Or maybe that's what you meant anyway. :)

---------------------------
Edit: Ah no! Just saw that in Explorer "Size on disk" is actually counting clusters, so it does what XY does in "Space used", only that Explorer takes compression into account. So I will just call it "Size on disk" as well, and make it behave the same.

BTW, Win8.1 has a curious bug here. If a file is smaller than one cluster it shows Size on Disk as zero. :eh:
Attachments
2022-01-21_085057.png
2022-01-21_085057.png (9.73 KiB) Viewed 1441 times

1024mb
Posts: 205
Joined: 14 Dec 2018 23:26

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by 1024mb »

Yes, that's what I meant :tup: .

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

This should also affect the "Show Used Space" option of the "Size" column. More work than expected... :cup: :cup: :cup:

1024mb
Posts: 205
Joined: 14 Dec 2018 23:26

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by 1024mb »

Well, it seems it's going to be even more work :mrgreen: .
Tried 22.70.0101 and:

1. If I select a folder, the "Size on disk" section in the info panel shows the size on bytes no matter what (folder can be in the MB, GB, KB, TB, etc.), but if I select a file it doesn't show the size in bytes unless the file is, it seems, under 100MB. Is this intended? Is not that I miss the size on bytes, just curious.

2. "Size on disk" in both info panel and column are still not taking into account compression (I have disabled folder size caching):
XYplorer_2022-01-21_13-03-38.png
XYplorer_2022-01-21_13-03-38.png (29.95 KiB) Viewed 1417 times

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

:blackstorm: AArrrghhh!!

It worked before, but then I got carried away with the column and changed this and that and stopped looking at the properties window. Well, tomorrow... :beer: :)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

Well, I looked into it now and can confirm 1) (better in next beta), but not 2). Hmm. :eh:

1024mb
Posts: 205
Joined: 14 Dec 2018 23:26

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by 1024mb »

I've checked other directories that are also compressed and they all show the original size.
I just tried compacting a folder and the same, XYplorer still shows me the original size.

Code: Select all

compact /C /EXE /S LZX *
Ha! I know why it's not showing the compressed sizes.

If I use "/EXE" XYplorer doesn't show the compressed size because the directories aren't marked to be compressed. If I only use

Code: Select all

compact /C /S LZX *
It does.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

Yep, XY needs the mark. I could do it without it but that would slow *everything* down. NO way.

1024mb
Posts: 205
Joined: 14 Dec 2018 23:26

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by 1024mb »

Yeah, I was thinking about that too, it will be hell on earth checking every single entry.
Could you add an option to "force scan" for compressed files? Like "Calculate Folder Sizes" but manually indicating that the folders I'm calculating the sizes of have compressed files inside.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

Why don't you just obey and make the mark? :)

Evolve
Posts: 353
Joined: 27 Feb 2020 09:48

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by Evolve »

It shows wrong info. Are you sure you calculate size on disk correctly?

22.01.23 14꞉37꞉59 XYplorer.png
22.01.23 14꞉37꞉59 XYplorer.png (10.27 KiB) Viewed 1333 times
22.01.23 14꞉37꞉24 XYplorer.png
22.01.23 14꞉37꞉24 XYplorer.png (4.94 KiB) Viewed 1333 times

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60289
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Show actual used space when compact is used

Post by admin »

Is the Compressed attribute set for that file?

Post Reply