Do not show extension while renaming

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
Post Reply
vsub
Posts: 69
Joined: 23 Nov 2010 19:07

Do not show extension while renaming

Post by vsub »

Is there is some option of that or some alternative for this problem.

For example I have a lot of files that I want to rename(delete from certain part of the name to the end of the name(on every file the start point is different)).
Because the extension is always visible while renaming,I have to limit the mouse movements so I will not delete the extension along with the part that I want to delete.

For example file named 12345.txt,I want to delete 345 by just click(between 2 and 3)hold the left button,move the mouse to the end of the name,release the left button and press delete\backspace.

Or is there is some unknown to me hotkey that will select from the current position to the end of the name(excluding the extension)

highend
Posts: 13327
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: Do not show extension while renaming

Post by highend »

Ctrl + Shift + Cursor right

But it'll select the word delimiter (the dot) as well. Better than nothing...

Apart from that you could use a button with a keyboard shortcut / user command / catalog entry / whatever with:

Code: Select all

rename b, input("Input the new name:", , getpathcomponent("<curitem>", "base"));
Which hides the extension...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

vsub
Posts: 69
Joined: 23 Nov 2010 19:07

Re: Do not show extension while renaming

Post by vsub »

Can XYP do something like macro then.
After I click on the position to press some hotkey that will send this
Shift+End
Ctrl+Shift+Left
Shift+Left
Delete

I can easily make AutoHotkey script for this

Code: Select all

Send,{LShift Down}{End}{LCtrl Down}{Left}{LCtrl Up}{Left}{LShift Up}{Delete}{Down}
but it it possible with XYP

highend
Posts: 13327
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33
Location: Win Server 2022 @100%

Re: Do not show extension while renaming

Post by highend »

but it it possible with XYP
Nope.
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

Post Reply