Colors/Dark

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by klownboy »

I made a nearly one-liner script that will change from light to dark mode. In dark, there no menu bar and in Light there is. I've been using it a long time - since yesterday. I use it as a Dark/Light mode Customized Toolbar Button (CTB) with the same icon instead of using the XY internal Dark mode button. Save your normal "Light " mode layout using the menu Window > Save layout as..." In my case I called the layout "Normal". When Don gets the menu dark obviously I'll scratch this. You could also have it as a Customized Keyboard Shortcut. Of course you could save a separate Dark mode "layout" instead that doesn't have the Main menu and switch between the two.
if(get("#316")) {#316;loadlayout("normal");}else {#316; if(get("#1061")){#1061;}}

EDIT: Perhaps a better way to cycle between Light and Dark mode (without the menu bar in Dark) especially if you don't use or want to use layouts would be this:
if(get("#316")){if(!get("#1061")){#1061;}#316;}else{#316; if(get("#1061")){#1061;}}

You can also have the right click of the same CTB bring up the Main Menu as a pop-up with: if(!get('#1061')){popupmainmenu;}
Last edited by klownboy on 29 Jan 2022 15:51, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

Norn
Posts: 416
Joined: 24 Oct 2021 16:10

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by Norn »

I kind of don't like that white line, you can't see it in the screenshot, so I drew it...
Attachments
whiteline.png
whiteline.png (30.55 KiB) Viewed 1247 times
Win10, Win11 @100% 2560x1440 22H2

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by admin »

you can't see it in the screenshot, so I drew it...???

please explain

Norn
Posts: 416
Joined: 24 Oct 2021 16:10

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by Norn »

I mean the screenshot doesn't capture that white line, so I drew it. "Open image in new tab", that white line in the middle.
Win10, Win11 @100% 2560x1440 22H2

klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by klownboy »

I opened your image and I clearly see the white line, but my similar configuration (dark with no menu) has no such line. Until Don gets back, you may want to experiment with the Configuration > Tabs > Visual styles and also Highlights and Dark Mode. He'd probably need to know some of those settings, like Borders (I have "no borders"), Windows Theme style (that's my setting), XYplorer Classic style, etc.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by admin »

I don't get it. A screenshot is a screenshot.

Norn
Posts: 416
Joined: 24 Oct 2021 16:10

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by Norn »

Well, I see it in the CMD window. I reinstalled the system today because the right-click menu doesn't follow dark mode (a Bug in Windows 11) and then I saw that white line... :|
[SOLVED] Nvidia control panel -> Adjust desktop size and position -> Scaling mode -> Select full-screen and apply.
Last edited by Norn on 29 Jan 2022 12:34, edited 1 time in total.
Win10, Win11 @100% 2560x1440 22H2

klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by klownboy »

Hi Don, is it expected to have a dark CTB menu background when in normal Light mode? It actually looks pretty good, but I figured I'd ask.
Attachments
Dark menu on Light mode.jpg
Dark menu on Light mode.jpg (91.48 KiB) Viewed 1171 times
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by admin »

Yes, this is how the MS gods decided. The menu colors are controlled by the Windows global "dark/light mode for apps" setting. All I can do is allow them to control the menu colors. If I don't then they will be light always. I decided to allow.

klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by klownboy »

OK, sounds good, looks good.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by admin »

Code: Select all

v22.70.0281 - 2022-01-29 14:54
    + Dark Mode | Dropdowns: Managed to make them dark! But since there is no real Windows 
      support for this (I hope they are still working on it) I had to use a dirty hack. 
      The result looks a bit retro-futuristic but you will get used to it. Better than 
      white.
      - You need Win 10 release 2004 (May 2020) or higher.
Could anybody send me screenshot of the dark combo boxes in Win10 and Win11? I'm curious if they look the same as in my Win10:
Attachments
2022-01-29_182121.png
2022-01-29_182121.png (29.79 KiB) Viewed 1140 times

Norn
Posts: 416
Joined: 24 Oct 2021 16:10

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by Norn »

I think Win11 is the same as new version of Win10, except UI and bugs. :maf:
Win11 21H2 22000.434:
Attachments
DarkModeC2.png
DarkModeC2.png (58.88 KiB) Viewed 1130 times
DarkModeC.png
DarkModeC.png (51.49 KiB) Viewed 1130 times
Win10, Win11 @100% 2560x1440 22H2

klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by klownboy »

I sent you a Windows 11 pic of the same Configuration box. The lower drop downs are nearly the same color as the box background until you drop down. Then they are dark like the 2 upper input boxes. I like yours better.
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 60357
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
Contact:

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by admin »

Norn: Looks okay to me, thanks.

klownboy: why is your upper box empty??? (why didn't you post it here in the forum, makes it difficult to discuss it)

klownboy
Posts: 4109
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 19:27

Re: Colors/Dark

Post by klownboy »

admin wrote: 29 Jan 2022 19:48 why is your upper box empty??? (why didn't you post it here in the forum, makes it difficult to discuss it)
You got me as to why mine are blank before I hit the drop down. I take it the first item in the drop down list should be there, but isn't. I changed my level of darkness from 20 to 10 from what I had sent you via email. You did say send it to me so I did that instead of posting. :roll: :)

EDIT: They are showing up now once I selected one. Could it be they weren't showing because I had never did a selection previously or should they show even for a brand new install?
Configuration Combo boxes_2_Win 11 X64.jpg
Configuration Combo boxes_2_Win 11 X64.jpg (236.38 KiB) Viewed 1122 times
After making a selection...
Configuration Combo boxes_3_Win 11 X64.jpg
Configuration Combo boxes_3_Win 11 X64.jpg (254.46 KiB) Viewed 1122 times
Windows 11, 22H2 Build 22621.1555 at 100% 2560x1440

Post Reply