How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
Post Reply
nutnutwin
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 May 2020 02:00

How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by nutnutwin »

Hi, thank you for your great work

I have been using Autohotkey to Open Path/File in XYplorer, like

Code: Select all

Run, C:\Dropbox\App\...\XYplorer.exe %Local_URL%
# The Problem
It seems to always open in the previously active Pane

# My question
Is is possible to open in specific pane(eg. Always the Right Pane)

# What I tried
- In Autohotkey
- Detect if it is not the pane I want(I prefer Right Pane as Active Pane)
- Use XYplorer Shortcut to move the tab to the other Pane

↑Works, but it cause a "Flip" every time, which is really bothering.

I wonder if it is possible to just, open the new tab in the Pane I designate

Thank you

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by highend »

Something like: XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; goto '%Local_URL%';"
In other words, feed it a script...
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

nutnutwin
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 May 2020 02:00

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by nutnutwin »

highend wrote: 03 Nov 2020 14:48 Something like: XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; goto '%Local_URL%';"
In other words, feed it a script...
# About the answer
Hi, Thank you so much!
XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; goto 'C:\'"
Seems to ✦replace✦ the current tab, Is there anyway I can make XYplorer open a new tab?
Totally new to the scripts, sorry

--- ✄ -----------------------

# About CMD parameter
I googled for a while but did not find the doc about the parameter/arguments,
that is "/feed"

I found "/title", and "/ini"(for settings I recon?)
[URL](viewtopic.php?t=9298)

Wonder if there are detailed doc for this

Thank you so much in advance

jupe
Posts: 2758
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by jupe »

If you always want a new tab when started from the command line, then you can just enable this option in the GUI:

Configuration | General | Startup & Exit | Open command line start path in new tab

alternatively, you can use XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; tab('new', '%Local_URL%');"

No need to Google to get help on XYplorer, the help file is the best resource and can answer all your questions if you read it, so if you press F1 in the XY GUI, and then select Configuration > Command Line Options, and also the scripting commands are all fully documented, under Advanced Topics.

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by highend »

Code: Select all

XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; tab('new', '%Local_URL%');"
Press F1, "Configuration", "Command Line Switches", scroll to "/feed"
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

nutnutwin
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 May 2020 02:00

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by nutnutwin »

jupe wrote: 04 Nov 2020 21:42 If you always want a new tab when started from the command line, then you can just enable this option in the GUI:

Configuration | General | Startup & Exit | Open command line start path in new tab

alternatively, you can use XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; tab('new', '%Local_URL%');"

No need to Google to get help on XYplorer, the help file is the best resource and can answer all your questions if you read it, so if you press F1 in the XY GUI, and then select Configuration > Command Line Options, and also all the scripting commands are all fully documented, under Advanced Topics.
Wow, just found the "tab" command

still thank you so much

> Configuration | General | Startup & Exit | Open command line start path in new tab
does not seem to work on my several tries, but I will try to figure out
more likely to be my fault with bad scripting on autohotkey side

Thank you so much!

jupe
Posts: 2758
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by jupe »

nutnutwin wrote: 04 Nov 2020 22:08 > Configuration | General | Startup & Exit | Open command line start path in new tab
does not seem to work on my several tries, but I will try to figure out
Oops sorry, I forgot to add you need to pass the path not via a script for that to work, like this:

XYplorer.exe "||%Local_URL%"

and the path still has to be different to the path that is already open in the existing tab.

nutnutwin
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 May 2020 02:00

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by nutnutwin »

jupe wrote: 04 Nov 2020 22:15
nutnutwin wrote: 04 Nov 2020 22:08 > Configuration | General | Startup & Exit | Open command line start path in new tab
does not seem to work on my several tries, but I will try to figure out
Oops sorry, I forgot to add you need to pass the path not via a script for that to work, like this:

XYplorer.exe "||%Local_URL%"

and the path still has to be different to the path that is already open in the existing tab.
Thanks
it worked

for what I tried so far

- if I use script i can specify which pane but cannot specify file(can only specify dir, which does not focus on the file)
- If I use pipe i can specify files(which opens the dir that contains it) but have not found out how to specify the pane

↑wonder if is there a workaround for this
Sorry for the tedious question
really thank you for the help so far

highend
Posts: 13274
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by highend »

Then don't use Configuration | General | Startup & Exit | Open command line start path in new tab

but XYplorer.exe /feed="::focus 'P2'; tab('new'); goto '%Local_URL%';"
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal

jupe
Posts: 2758
Joined: 20 Oct 2017 21:14
Location: Win10 22H2 120dpi

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by jupe »

Alternatively...

Code: Select all

XYplorer.exe "%PANE1PATH%||%PANE2PATH%"

XYplorer.exe "%PANE1PATH%||"

XYplorer.exe "||%PANE2PATH%"

nutnutwin
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 May 2020 02:00

Re: How do I open in right/left pane in CommandLine?

Post by nutnutwin »

Thank you people,
these works.

Really appreciate your patience.

Post Reply