Corporate IT says XYPlorer is malware, how to respond?

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
john3774

Corporate IT says XYPlorer is malware, how to respond?

Post by john3774 »

I've been using XYPlorer for about 10 years. I'm trying to help a colleague who would benefit from using it. His corporate IT says XYPlorer is too much of a risk, based on this web site:
https://www.reverse.it/sample/1d4499d69 ... mentId=120

The web site lists about 15 things that are bad about XYPlorer, and since I have zero experience in computer security, I understand none of them. The attached .png file shows a summary.

Any suggestions on how to respond?

thanks for your time,
John
Attachments
XYplorer stuff.png
XYplorer stuff.png (35.71 KiB) Viewed 1741 times

bdeshi

Re: Corporate IT says XYPlorer is malware, how to respond?

Post by bdeshi »

This kind of analysis is basically an extension of "malware X likes ice cream, therefore anyone who likes ice cream is malware X".
(In fact this can be said for most malware analyses, considering the amount of false positives they tend to generate for, not just XY, but all kinds of safe programs.)

XYplorer uses some system calls and other functionality to do some stuff that is often used by certain types of malware, so the analysis lumps XY into the malware category without further consideration, completely ignoring the fact that the same actions are completely valid for a file manager.
the majority of that site's "Suspiciousness indicators" result from this.
For example, XY has to use many api calls that read, search, touch or modify all kinds of files; par for the course as a file manager. Now, the same calls are commonly used by malware for finding files to infect. But these two use cases are obviously completely different, and this is no reason to call XY a malware.