copies are made when pasting from Remote Desktop Connection

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
Post Reply
john3774
Posts: 22
Joined: 27 Aug 2010 16:54

copies are made when pasting from Remote Desktop Connection

Post by john3774 » 19 Nov 2018 15:22

I have a problem pasting files from a Remote Desktop Connection - if the files exist, a copy is created with the -01, it does not overwrite (or ask to overwrite) the original.

Perusing the help forums, I've tried these two suggestions below: ===

====== method 1: These checkboxes enabled, per username highend ======
Configuration | File Operations | File Operations | Custom Copy Operations | Use Custom Copy
Configuration | File Operations | File Operations | Custom Copy Operations | For all copy operations
Configuration | File Operations | File Operations | Custom Copy Operations | Configure...
On name collisions: set to "Overwrite"?
==================================================================

===== method 2: Per username SAP who said: ========
username SAP unchecked this one and changed the setting to over write - SAP said it works like it should.
Configuration | File Operations | File Operations | Custom Copy Operations | For all copy operations
==================================================

Neither method 1 nor 2 work for me. To clarify, this occurs when pasting files from a remote terminal session.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Best regards,
John

serendipity
Posts: 3348
Joined: 07 May 2007 18:14
Location: NJ/NY

Re: copies are made when pasting from Remote Desktop Connection

Post by serendipity » 23 Nov 2018 04:27

Hi John,
Could you describe the exact steps you use to copy items from remote desktop to local desktop?
Example, you use XYplorer on both or just one?
how do you copy and paste? menu? ctrl+c? drag-drop?

This would help us replicate this issue or find a solution.

john3774
Posts: 22
Joined: 27 Aug 2010 16:54

Re: copies are made when pasting from Remote Desktop Connection

Post by john3774 » 26 Nov 2018 16:08

== background: ==
XYplorer 19.40.0100 is running on a computer with a Remote Desktop Connection. (but I've had this happen with older versions). Remote computer is Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise. Near computer is Windows 10 Pro for Workstations.
============
Here are the various combinations I've tried:
XY plorer on both ends, use Cntrl-C to copy, Cntrl-V to paste, it creates -01 version, no overwrite warning.
XYplorer on both ends, use Right-click- copy, right-click-Paste, it creates -01 version, no overwrite warning.
Windows Explorer on copy end, use Right-click-copy, XYPlorer on paste end, then to paste: Right-click-copy, it creates -01 version, no overwrite warning.
Windows Explorer on copy end, use Right-click-copy, XYPlorer on paste end, then to paste: Control-V, it creates -01 version, no overwrite warning.
Windows Explorer on copy end, use right-click-copy, Windows Explorer on paste end, right click paste: I get expected warning about overwrite.
Windows Explorer on copy end, use Cntrl-C, Windows Explorer on paste end, use Cntrl-V, : I get expected warning about overwrite.
XY Plorer on copy end, use Cntrl-C, Windows Explorer on paste end, use Cntrl-V, : I get expected warning about overwrite.
XY Plorer on copy end, use right-click-copy, Windows Explorer on paste end, use right-click-paste, : I get expected warning about overwrite.
====== so, in summary, it appears that problem occurs if and only if XY Plorer is used on the paste end. =====
thanks,
John

serendipity
Posts: 3348
Joined: 07 May 2007 18:14
Location: NJ/NY

Re: copies are made when pasting from Remote Desktop Connection

Post by serendipity » 26 Nov 2018 23:04

I think this could be a safety feature to prevent overwrite. If you want to overwrite (as per your configuration), then you may have to open the network location as a tab or in the other pane in the local XYplorer. I don't think having two XYplorers running on each end would help.

john3774
Posts: 22
Joined: 27 Aug 2010 16:54

Re: copies are made when pasting from Remote Desktop Connection

Post by john3774 » 28 Nov 2018 17:31

Thanks for the hint. If I mount the remote connection as a drive, and copy within one instance of XYplorer that is running on the local machine, then I do get the desired behavior.

thanks,
John

Post Reply