How to find all folders containing a certain file type

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
chrisj4195

How to find all folders containing a certain file type

Post by chrisj4195 »

Hi i'm just getting started with XYplorer and could use a little help.

I'm trying to find all folders on my (P:) drive containing a .dwg file.

I then need to copy all of these folders and their contents onto an external hardrive.

admin
Site Admin

Re: How to find all folders containing a certain file type

Post by admin »

Hi and welcome to the club!

Use this serch term (the /p switch returns the parent folders of all matching items):

*.dwg /p

Don

Dustydog

Post by Dustydog »

Would it be possible to have a popup help in the Find box that lists things like this on a right click? Or some other brilliant way of helping to remember all this? I'm not new at this, nor to the help documentation. I remembered it existed, just not by enough to find it. Frustrating.

Had to use Google to find this in the Forum. Even GREPed the pdf manual for various possible terms near other terms. I even remembered it was done somehow by parent instead of child (like in Everything).

Sometimes the program is just a bit more powerful than I am :oops:

jupe

Post by jupe »

While your request is considered, an alternative just in case you didn't know already is that you can press F1 in the search field and the help pops up to the search section, but it sounds like you are after the search switches instead, which you can access directly by pasting the following into the XY address bar:

Code: Select all

::help "idh_quicknamesearch.htm";
or add that command to a custom toolbar button or shortcut key for the time being.

admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Dustydog wrote:Had to use Google to find this in the Forum.
Usually the best way. QuickSearch has so many switches, if I'd show them in some info window you would have to scan them visually. Google is faster.