sc Obfuscate

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
highend
Posts: 10148
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

sc Obfuscate

Post by highend »

Is there a reason why the catalog isn't included?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50916
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: sc Obfuscate()

Post by admin »

1) Laziness.

2) I use it to toggle Obfuscate() and I want to find my command :)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Stefan
Posts: 1360
Joined: 18 Nov 2008 21:47
Location: Germany, EU

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by Stefan »

Perhaps an improvement idea.

Would be even more nifty if we could select the item we want to obfuscate.
That way we can hide private thing but also show the list for example.

Obfuscate,1,"all"
Obfuscate,0,"List"

Syntax: obfuscate [value], [object], [bullet]
or even
Syntax: obfuscate [value], [object(s)], [bullet]

Code: Select all

Name: Obfuscate
Action: Obfuscates item names
Syntax: obfuscate [value], [object(s)], [bullet]
value:  [optional]
        0: turn off
        1: turn on
        missing: toggle
object: [optional]
	Pipe separated list of objects to obfuscate. One out of Tree, List, Address Bar,
 	Catalog, Tabs, Breadcrumb Bars, Status Bar, Info Panel, and Window caption.
	missing: or "all" works on every object
bullet: [optional]
        character to use
        defaults to Unicode Character 'BULLET' (U+2022)

- - -

Highjacking SkyFrontiers' obfuscation example from http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 86#p125786 as an example picture:
SkyFrontiers' obfuscation example
SkyFrontiers' obfuscation example
SkyFrontier obfuscation.png (141.84 KiB) Viewed 2770 times

Irwin of Upton
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Feb 2015 19:42

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by Irwin of Upton »

Am unable to find Obfuscate in the Manual of PDF. Is it found in there under some other name?

Stefan
Posts: 1360
Joined: 18 Nov 2008 21:47
Location: Germany, EU

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by Stefan »

Irwin of Upton wrote:Am unable to find Obfuscate in the Manual of PDF. Is it found in there under some other name?
That's work in process of a new feature... wait for the next full release with updated manual.
Till then observe the forum and the Change Log at http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 63#p125563
v15.40.0004 - 2015-06-23 21:10
+ Scripting got a new command.
Name: Obfuscate

 

Garonne
Posts: 67
Joined: 21 Apr 2015 19:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by Garonne »

It would even be nicer if we could actually be even more precise in what to obfuscate (i.e. Path/Filenames) as you usually want to show off some files or doing something while hiding other stuff. So you usually don't want to hide the entire tree (though Mini-Tree might do in that situation, too) or the entire file-list, just the major part of both (excluding some Paths and Files).

Yes, I do realize that this might not be easy to do... But hey... You started the "obfuscate" command. :biggrin:


On the positive side: I don't need Obfuscate anytime soon I guess... :)

SkyFrontier
Posts: 2341
Joined: 04 Jan 2010 14:27
Location: Pasárgada (eu vou!)

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by SkyFrontier »

On the negative side, +1. :P

Like in: "since ever I wanted to keep file names and obfuscate everything else! Or 1st found (upper) folders being showed, everything else (upper paths other than 1st ones plus files names) being obfuscated.

It all depends on what is needed to be displayed.
New User's Ref. Guide and Quick Setup Guide can help a bit! Check XYplorer Resources Index for many useful links!
Want a new XYperience? XY MOD - surfYnXoard
-coz' the aim of computing is to free us to LIVE...

Irwin of Upton
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Feb 2015 19:42

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by Irwin of Upton »

"That's work in process of a new feature... wait for the next full release with updated manual"

Maybe it is better to just go with Official Releases and not use Betas??

SkyFrontier
Posts: 2341
Joined: 04 Jan 2010 14:27
Location: Pasárgada (eu vou!)

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by SkyFrontier »

Irwin of Upton wrote: Maybe it is better to just go with Official Releases and not use Betas??
Then you'd miss the chance of trying to adjust the features to your liking by making requests via forum. Honest opinion.
New User's Ref. Guide and Quick Setup Guide can help a bit! Check XYplorer Resources Index for many useful links!
Want a new XYperience? XY MOD - surfYnXoard
-coz' the aim of computing is to free us to LIVE...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50916
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by admin »

Easy, easy with obfuscate. I perfer to keep this as quick and dirty and easy to use as it is.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

LittleBiG
Posts: 1668
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by LittleBiG »

highend wrote:Is there a reason why the catalog isn't included?
+1
admin wrote:1) Laziness.

2) I use it to toggle Obfuscate() and I want to find my command :)
1. Please don't be.
2. If you use a toolbar button for it like me...

Now I always have to switch off before obfuscating (it contains labels which are confidential), so nobody can enjoy my colorful catalog when I share.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50916
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by admin »

Ok. :)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

LittleBiG
Posts: 1668
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: sc Obfuscate

Post by LittleBiG »

Thanks, it is beautiful and smooth now!
Attachments
xy_small.png
xy_small.png (243.15 KiB) Viewed 2311 times

aurumdigitus
Posts: 1052
Joined: 30 May 2008 21:02
Location: Lake Erie

Catalog obfuscation

Post by aurumdigitus »

v16.80.0005 - 2016-05-24 20:10
+ SC obfuscate: Now also the Catalog is obfuscated.
Am definitely not keen on this one. Having gotten so use to the Catalog always being there, if this is to be a permanent change please give us an option someplace to stop it from happening. :(

LittleBiG
Posts: 1668
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 12:57
Location: Win10x64

Re: Catalog obfuscation

Post by LittleBiG »

I am not sure why you opened a new topic on this one. There is one a few rows below already.

May I ask if you simply don't like it, or you have any functional reason to wish it back. Because I am really curious what use of the catalog you have when everything is obfuscated :?
Last edited by LittleBiG on 25 May 2016 16:58, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply