XY development phylosophy

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
binocular222

XY development phylosophy

Post by binocular222 »

From my observation of various great software, there're 2 ways to develop features:
1) Keep adding new features, which are core and essential to the main purpose of a program. =>
- Development is close-source, consistent
- Risk of being bloat-ware
- Good example: Adobe CS, EditPad, WinRar, IDMan...
- Bad example: Windows, Tune-Up Utilities, Norton,...
2) Fix a simple, stable base then offer a great SDK to community
- New features are totally depend on plugins
- Change to the core will affect too many plugins,
- Good example: Sublime Text; Winamp
- Bad example: not aware of any

It seems XY is on the 1st way, but Don, is the 2nd way any promising?
I'm a casual coder using AHK language. All of my xys scripts:
http://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic. ... 243#p82488

admin
Site Admin

Re: XY development phylosophy

Post by admin »

I think XY is a third way, and it is unique in that way. Rapidly developing think tank driven innovative integrated non-bloat light-weight superfast easy to use portable ultra-robust high-performance. Sorry, I don't have the time to elaborate.

binocular222

Post by binocular222 »

Good to know that :appl:

Post by 40k »

admin wrote:Rapidly developing think tank driven innovative integrated non-bloat light-weight superfast easy to use portable ultra-robust high-performance.
I develop scripts that integrate media functionality into Xyplorer.
Hash - Twitch.tv in VLC (NEW 2.0!) - FFmpeg GUI - Youtube downloading
XYplorer for Linux! Tutorial

armsys

Post by armsys »

binocular222 wrote:Good to know that :appl:
I agree with Don. And I believe Don's way is the right way to develop customer-oriented applicatoins.