NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Please check the FAQ (https://www.xyplorer.com/faq.php) before posting a question...
Post Reply
davidrmartin77
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2017 01:53

NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by davidrmartin77 »

Please help with a configuration adjustment, switch, command line or whatever is necessary:

I never want XYp to automatically calculate folder sizes.
I never want the software to stall and tell me it is "getting folder sizes".

If I want to know the sizes of folders, i am happy to manually trigger the calculation.

highend
Posts: 10349
Joined: 06 Feb 2011 00:33

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by highend »

Configuration | General | Tree and List | List | [ ] Always show folder sizes?
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de

kunkel321
Posts: 619
Joined: 10 Jun 2012 03:45
Location: Near Seattle

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by kunkel321 »

There's also a 'Show folder sizes' toolbar button (looks like a lead weight). Is it possible that you had previously clicked the button, then removed it from your toolbar before unclicking it?
ste(phen|ve) kunkel

davidrmartin77
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2017 01:53

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by davidrmartin77 »

I have unchecked (unclicked?) the icon and I know where it is and how to use it, thank you.
And I know where it is in the Configuration menu and then is deselected.
That seemed NOT to solve the problem.

BUT, time has solved the problem, maybe a software update or two in there as well.
I expected that right-clicking "Size" column in a List would only calculate folder sizes for that List Window but it looks to be pervasive across all List Windows.

:party: :beer:

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 51287
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by admin »

Tip 1: To use "Show Folder Sizes" (and other "Styles") individually per tab:
1) Tick Configuration | Colors and Styles | Styles | Remember list settings per tab
2) Tick List style (line numbers, auto-size, grid...) under Configuration | Colors and Styles | Styles | Apply to...

Tip 2: Use this command to calculate folder sizes just now and once for the current list:
View | Calculate Folder Sizes (Shift+F5)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

giuliastar
Posts: 306
Joined: 14 Sep 2013 07:22

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by giuliastar »

admin wrote: โ†‘18 May 2021 09:07 Tip 1: To use "Show Folder Sizes" (and other "Styles") individually per tab:
1) Tick Configuration | Colors and Styles | Styles | Remember list settings per tab
2) Tick List style (line numbers, auto-size, grid...) under Configuration | Colors and Styles | Styles | Apply to...

Tip 2: Use this command to calculate folder sizes just now and once for the current list:
View | Calculate Folder Sizes (Shift+F5)
Hi
i have this issues too
even i have all the right settings , xyplorer keep calculate folders size
but this happen with the lastest version
thanks

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 51287
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by admin »

Folder View Settings can do that, too...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

giuliastar
Posts: 306
Joined: 14 Sep 2013 07:22

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by giuliastar »

admin wrote: โ†‘18 May 2021 20:53 Folder View Settings can do that, too...
hi
but with the settings cache folder size ON and always show folder size , everytime i restart xyplorer it does re-calculate all folder size
in many cases , with a lot of folders and an external hard disk o nas , it does freeze for seconds or 1 o 2 minutes , because it does always re-calculate folders size

with the older versions xyplorer did not give such iusses, may i know if could be fixed or may i know the last version without such behavior?
yesterday i had to copy and move lots of files and folder (around 20TB ) and it was a nightmare , xyplorer portable kept to freeze always
I have disable the antivirus

thanks

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 51287
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by admin »

You don't want the folder sizes, right? So turn them off. :|
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

giuliastar
Posts: 306
Joined: 14 Sep 2013 07:22

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by giuliastar »

admin wrote: โ†‘21 May 2021 09:32 You don't want the folder sizes, right? So turn them off. :|
Hi
yes i want them ,but in the oldest version (i don't rember which version ) Xyplorer does cache the folder size
i'm running the new version , and yes there is the cache option on , but xyplorer re-scan always the folder size all of them

may i know in which version was changed it ?
i remember an older version and can cache the folder size and did not freeze re-scanning often the folder to calculate the size
can you tell me which version was it?
and could be added a option to re-calculate the folder size manually?
have xyplorer freezing copying lots of data is not the best
thanks

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 51287
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by admin »

:veryconfused:

1) nothing was changed with regard to folder size caching in recent versions

2) folder size calculation/caching has nothing to do with file copying speed
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

giuliastar
Posts: 306
Joined: 14 Sep 2013 07:22

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by giuliastar »

admin wrote: โ†‘21 May 2021 10:41 :veryconfused:

1) nothing was changed with regard to folder size caching in recent versions

2) folder size calculation/caching has nothing to do with file copying speed
hi
2) seeing i had to copy lots of folder and files , i had not copying speed problems i had lots of XYplorer freezing while it was calculating folder size!
the problem was that xyplorer kept to calculate many time ,very often , the folder size and in this moment it did freeze very often
could be added a feature to show folder size (cached) and a feature to suspend the re-calculatation folder size (maybe a button or an option)?
and or an option or a button or a shortcut to re-calculate the folder size?
could be added ?
thanks

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 51287
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by admin »

Folder size caching seems to works well as always.

Anyway, you might want to untick this:
Configuration | General | Refresh, Icons, History | Auto-Refresh | Refresh during file operations
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

giuliastar
Posts: 306
Joined: 14 Sep 2013 07:22

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by giuliastar »

admin wrote: โ†‘21 May 2021 12:03 Folder size caching seems to works well as always.

Anyway, you might want to untick this:
Configuration | General | Refresh, Icons, History | Auto-Refresh | Refresh during file operations
Hi
Configuration | General | Refresh, Icons, History | Auto-Refresh | Refresh during file operations
i have always disabled
but i'm sure older versions were different , i will try some old version
because in the past i had to do the same , and it doesn't give me this issue
but may i ask you a question ?

is it normal (clean install ) with configuration general > tree and list -> cache folder size ON and and always show folder size that xyplorer re-calculate everytime the folder of a volume/partition?
i close xyplorer (without making any change to files or folder and restart xyplorer and xyplorer starts to re-calculate all the folders size ?

thanks
just to understand how works , because seeing the cache in on ,and i haven't changed anything ,why should re-calculate all fodler ?
and what does xyplorer store in the folder cache , seeing it need to scan always all my folders

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 51287
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: NEVER automatically calculate folder sizes

Post by admin »

No, that's not normal, of course.

The folder size cache is a single file:
<xydata>\fsc.dat
Go to it and check if it is written...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! ๐ŸŽธ Or wear a mask! ๐Ÿ˜ท

Post Reply