[Solved] MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Borut wrote:
admin wrote:"Online help"? For what, for the ITT? Since the ITT is a normal menu command it will be featured in the offline help. Wouldn't that be enough?
Yes, yes, that's what I had in mind - the normal, usual help file, expanded to cover the ITT (with enough examples especially for "nx:" syntax in all the various possibilities and also these new script functions for testing it).
I'll wait for the demand. If more and more wanna-be translators start knocking at my door, I will add a how-to-translate section to the homepage, but for now I think I can handle it via email, forum, and offline help.

Interesting to know that you are using the new script functions for testing it! Never got any feedback on these. Let me know if anything is missing there.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Borut wrote:It seems that French is making steady good progress.
Oh yes? Magnifique! :D

But it's still along way to go. When the translations are done the ball comes back to me: Adjust the interface. About every language in the world needs more space than English, so there will be a LOT of adjustments...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated? - Colo

Post by Borut »

Hmm, are color names (for instance in the labels list) being translated (Configuration | Labels)? It does not appear so at my place.
Win 7 Pro 64bit

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated? - Colo

Post by admin »

Borut wrote:Hmm, are color names (for instance in the labels list) being translated (Configuration | Labels)? It does not appear so at my place.
They are, but only on a fresh install (or of you delete tag.dat). This is because they are just default names for the first labels. Since the user can rename all those labels (in Configuration / Tags) they are not translated.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

fenixproductions
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Nov 2012 22:48
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by fenixproductions »

Few notes, although they could be mentioned already (or I cannot find them):
  1. Ctrl+Alt+Enter on file and first popup string is not translated (copy filesize)
  2. string 3556 has some issue with newline character in %windir%\notepad.exe text
  3. string 1230 control is too narrow - there is space for it
  4. can't find string for Help window which appears for: File -> Move/Copy/Backup -> Move to -> Move to..

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

fenixproductions wrote:Few notes, although they could be mentioned already (or I cannot find them):
  1. Ctrl+Alt+Enter on file and first popup string is not translated (copy filesize)
  2. string 3556 has some issue with newline character in %windir%\notepad.exe text
  3. string 1230 control is too narrow - there is space for it
  4. can't find string for Help window which appears for: File -> Move/Copy/Backup -> Move to -> Move to..
1. It is a predefined PFA and only translated on a fresh installation.
2. Ah yes. I changed the original to ...%windir%\Notepad.exe... This fixes it.
3. What's the text? (Generally: I expect hundreds of such problems; I will tackle them after the translations)
4. Wow, confirmed, thanks!
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

fenixproductions
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Nov 2012 22:48
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by fenixproductions »

@admin
#3 This is the &Path text found in Find files tab at the bottom of the screen.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

You will have more space in the next beta.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

SkyFrontier
Posts: 2341
Joined: 04 Jan 2010 14:27
Location: Pasárgada (eu vou!)

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by SkyFrontier »

'30-day Trial Version' on title bar lacks translation.

Also, the 'XYplorer Trial Version' on trial welcome screen should be revised as everything else is ML, now.
New User's Ref. Guide and Quick Setup Guide can help a bit! Check XYplorer Resources Index for many useful links!
Want a new XYperience? XY MOD - surfYnXoard
-coz' the aim of computing is to free us to LIVE...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

SkyFrontier wrote:'30-day Trial Version' on title bar lacks translation.

Also, the 'XYplorer Trial Version' on trial welcome screen should be revised as everything else is ML, now.
This is it:

Code: Select all

<#>-day Trial Version
The graphics will have to stay in English. (Or be removed all together)
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

SkyFrontier
Posts: 2341
Joined: 04 Jan 2010 14:27
Location: Pasárgada (eu vou!)

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by SkyFrontier »

admin wrote:
SkyFrontier wrote:'30-day Trial Version' on title bar lacks translation.

Also, the 'XYplorer Trial Version' on trial welcome screen should be revised as everything else is ML, now.
This is it:

Code: Select all

<#>-day Trial Version
The graphics will have to stay in English. (Or be removed all together)
.0005 solved - as it was already translated on my side.
>can you please enlarge the 'all hints' button at 'tip of the day' window...?
New User's Ref. Guide and Quick Setup Guide can help a bit! Check XYplorer Resources Index for many useful links!
Want a new XYperience? XY MOD - surfYnXoard
-coz' the aim of computing is to free us to LIVE...

fenixproductions
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Nov 2012 22:48
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by fenixproductions »

Edit -> Backup to
- where is middle button translation coming from?
- why can't it be set separately?

Compare -> both panes
- where is 'bytes' part coming from in results window?

ms.2025
- is description logic for Boolean correct?

06.0493=(0054)cmd.caption:
06.0495=(0054)cmd.caption:
- both seem to be too short

Help -> Various info
- no translations at all

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Edit -> Backup to
- where is middle button translation coming from?
- why can't it be set separately?
--->>> good point! I added a new item at the end of the "core" that's reserved for Button captions:
co.0429=00|Move;Copy;Delete;Rename;Backup;Custom Copy;Custom Move;Unknown|--|...

Compare -> both panes
- where is 'bytes' part coming from in results window?
--->>> co.0065=00|bytes|--|...

ms.2025
- is description logic for Boolean correct?
--->>> what do you mean exactly?

06.0493=(0054)cmd.caption:
06.0495=(0054)cmd.caption:
- both seem to be too short
--->>> ok, I make them wider

Help -> Various info
- no translations at all
--->>> yes, on purpose: This info is mainly for *me* for debugging, so I need to understand it.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

fenixproductions
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Nov 2012 22:48
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by fenixproductions »

admin wrote:Compare -> both panes
- where is 'bytes' part coming from in results window?
--->>> co.0065=00|bytes|--|...
This question should rather be: why there are no plurals for it?
Why not using ms.0126?
admin wrote:ms.2025
- is description logic for Boolean correct?
--->>> what do you mean exactly?
It says, i.e.:
:*.jpg or *.png = Find all JPGs and PNGs
:tags:cats AND name:a* = Find all items tagged 'cats' and beginning with a*
But shouldn't it be:
:*.jpg or *.png = Find all JPGs or PNGs
:tags:cats AND name:a* = Find all items tagged 'cats' and beginning with a*
Or maybe rephrase it little bit?
:*.jpg or *.png = Find all items which are JPGs or PNGs
:tags:cats AND name:a* = Find all items tagged 'cats' and beginning with a*

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

fenixproductions wrote:
admin wrote:Compare -> both panes
- where is 'bytes' part coming from in results window?
--->>> co.0065=00|bytes|--|...
This question should rather be: why there are no plurals for it?
Why not using ms.0126?
admin wrote:ms.2025
- is description logic for Boolean correct?
--->>> what do you mean exactly?
It says, i.e.:
:*.jpg or *.png = Find all JPGs and PNGs
:tags:cats AND name:a* = Find all items tagged 'cats' and beginning with a*
But shouldn't it be:
:*.jpg or *.png = Find all JPGs or PNGs
:tags:cats AND name:a* = Find all items tagged 'cats' and beginning with a*
Or maybe rephrase it little bit?
:*.jpg or *.png = Find all items which are JPGs or PNGs
:tags:cats AND name:a* = Find all items tagged 'cats' and beginning with a*
1. Speed.

2. Don't know. English is not my 1st language.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Post Reply