[Solved] MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Things you’d like to miss in the future...
Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

[Solved] MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Borut »

Hm, maybe this is not a bug at all, but just my incompetence...

In the middle of a status line there is an information about the size: (nnnn bytes). I am apparently not able to get these "bytes" translated... I have translated #65 and #2845, but "bytes" remain. I do not seem to find any other string containing "byte", that would seem relevant, according to ITT.

Hm... :?
Last edited by Borut on 28 Jan 2013 13:28, edited 1 time in total.
Win 7 Pro 64bit

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

That's because of an old tweak: UnitByte. Set it to "" and it will work. Actually I think I could remove this tweak now.

BTW: Good idea to have this as a generic thread for non-translated strings.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Borut »

Some questionable spots detected and some GUI changes needed...

Thanks!
Attachments
ThumbnailsSettings.jpg
ThumbnailsSettings.jpg (124.08 KiB) Viewed 1217 times
Win 7 Pro 64bit

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Okay.

C&lear... is translated.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Marco
Posts: 2305
Joined: 27 Jun 2011 15:20

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Marco »

Don, I tried a fresh install of last beta and I think there's a string missing.
Under the menu File, the item Metadata looks impossible to translate.
Can you/anybody confirm?
Tag Backup - SimpleUpdater - XYplorer Messenger - The Unofficial XYplorer Archive - Everything in XYplorer
Don sees all [cit. from viewtopic.php?p=124094#p124094]

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Marco wrote:Don, I tried a fresh install of last beta and I think there's a string missing.
Under the menu File, the item Metadata looks impossible to translate.
Can you/anybody confirm?
It's item #1520 in my current version (= Me&tadata).
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Marco
Posts: 2305
Joined: 27 Jun 2011 15:20

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Marco »

:oops: forgot the ampersand!
Tag Backup - SimpleUpdater - XYplorer Messenger - The Unofficial XYplorer Archive - Everything in XYplorer
Don sees all [cit. from viewtopic.php?p=124094#p124094]

Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Construction of some strings

Post by Borut »

This is not about untranslated strings, but about construction of some strings...

If one goes to...
Configuration > File Operations > Custom Copy Operations > Configure

then a configuration dialog will be opened with the following subtitle:
Configure Custom Copy operations

If I am correct, it is constructed in a flexible way form the following parts:
(Configure) + (Custom Copy) + (operations)

If one tries to translate these elements, one needs (in some languages) the equivalent of (here just as an illustration):
(Configure) + (operations) + of + (Custom Copy)[this one in genitive]

:? :?:

Background: In hr-HR I tried to translate Custom copy as what would be "customized copying".
Win 7 Pro 64bit

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Good. Finally some interesting stuff. :) I'll find a solution...
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

Okay, to avoid any unforseen issue I decided to let you translate the whole sentences:

Code: Select all

Configure Backup operations.;Configure Custom Copy operations.;Configure Custom Move operations.
Are there are other similar issues?
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Borut »

admin wrote:Okay, to avoid any unforseen issue I decided to let you translate the whole sentences:
I believe that this is a reasonable solution.
admin wrote:Are there are other similar issues?
This was the first one where I could not get out. Other than that, there were some places where a slight rephrasing of the translation helped. On several occasions I had a feeling that it would be helpful if your syntax <nx:...;...;...> would be capable of combining the value macro inside itself...

Original example:

Code: Select all

Found and removed <#> orphaned <tag;~s>.
Acceptable solution:

Code: Select all

Pronađeno i uklonjeno: <#> <n5:napuštena oznaka;napuštene oznake;napuštenih oznaka>.
Actually, the following formulation would be more similar to the original (here expanded):

Code: Select all

Pronađeno je i uklonjeno 0 napuštenih oznaka.
Pronađena je i uklonjena 1 napuštena oznaka.
Pronađene su i uklonjene 2 napuštene oznake.
Pronađeno je i uklonjeno 5 napuštenih oznaka.
Therefore, something like the following syntax could prove handy (but, as I said, most of the time an acceptable workaround can be found) - this is just a wild idea:

Code: Select all

<<n5:Pronađena je i uklonjena <#> napuštena oznaka;Pronađene su i uklonjene <#> napuštene oznake;Pronađeno je i uklonjeno <#> napuštenih oznaka>>
I was never before consciously aware of these complexities. I could probably never learn such a language, if it ware not my native language. :shock:
Win 7 Pro 64bit

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

You know, you can put as many "number templates" as you want, so wouldn't this maybe work already now?:

Code: Select all

<n5:Pronađena je i uklonjena;Pronađene su i uklonjene;Pronađeno je i uklonjeno> <#> <n5:napuštena oznaka;napuštene oznake;napuštenih oznaka>
EDIT: oh, I just saw that this actually works!:

Code: Select all

<n5:Pronađena je i uklonjena # napuštena oznaka;Pronađene su i uklonjene # napuštene oznake;Pronađeno je i uklonjeno # napuštenih oznaka>
So, generally, these will all work and produce identical results:

Code: Select all

"<# file;# files>"
"<#> <file;files>"
"<#> <file;~s>"
But, FYI, this does not work:

Code: Select all

"<# file;# ~s>"
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Borut »

admin wrote:EDIT: oh, I just saw that this actually works!:

Code: Select all

<n5:Pronađena je i uklonjena # napuštena oznaka;Pronađene su i uklonjene # napuštene oznake;Pronađeno je i uklonjeno # napuštenih oznaka>
Wow! 8) I was not expecting that, so I haven't tried before. :P

I hope you are preparing the on line help and home page for v11.80 already. It seems that French is making steady good progress.

In recent days I was thinking about organizational options. It is imaginable that even for the same language several .lng will be produced (or later "branched"). Since you will most probably deny any responsibility for any translation, maybe the optimal solution would be to create a separate forum area where each language (meaning for instance pg-BR, en-US,...) would have its own thread, where each translation (i.e. translator) would keep his/her .lng up to date in a single message. No discussions whatsoever there. Another translator for the same language could create an additional message with his/her new .lng variation attached.

Just thinking aloud.
Win 7 Pro 64bit

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50012
Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
Location: Cologne, Win 8.1, Win 10
Contact:

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by admin »

I will offer the "official" LNG files directly on the homepage (and still deny any responsibility, of course), in a table with some other information (date, completeness, translator...). I think the current "language threads" in the forum are sufficient.

If more than one version for a language comes up, there is the problem to decide which one is going to be the official one. Difficult. No solution yet...

"Online help"? For what, for the ITT? Since the ITT is a normal menu command it will be featured in the offline help. Wouldn't that be enough?
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter | Stay home! 🎸 Or wear a mask! 😷

Borut
Posts: 1390
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 19:29

Re: MLS: Found a string that is not being translated?

Post by Borut »

admin wrote:"Online help"? For what, for the ITT? Since the ITT is a normal menu command it will be featured in the offline help. Wouldn't that be enough?
Yes, yes, that's what I had in mind - the normal, usual help file, expanded to cover the ITT (with enough examples especially for "nx:" syntax in all the various possibilities and also these new script functions for testing it).
Win 7 Pro 64bit

Post Reply